Copy the Song!


Deuteronomy 31:18-21The Message

16-18 God spoke to Moses: “You’re about to die and be buried with your ancestors. You’ll no sooner be in the grave than this people will be up and lusting after the foreign gods of this country that they are entering. They will abandon me and violate my Covenant that I’ve made with them. I’ll get angry, oh so angry! I’ll walk off and leave them on their own, won’t so much as look back at them. Then many calamities and disasters will devastate them because they are defenseless. They’ll say, ‘Isn’t it because our God wasn’t here that all this evil has come upon us?’ But I’ll stay out of their lives, keep looking the other way because of all their evil: they took up with other gods!

19-21 “But for right now, copy down this song and teach the People of Israel to sing it by heart. They’ll have it then as my witness against them. When I bring them into the land that I promised to their ancestors, a land flowing with milk and honey, and they eat and become full and get fat and then begin fooling around with other gods and worshiping them, and then things start falling apart, many terrible things happening, this song will be there with them as a witness to who they are and what went wrong. Their children won’t forget this song; they’ll be singing it. Don’t think I don’t know what they are already scheming to do, and they’re not even in the land yet, this land I promised them.”Read full chapter

There were lots of songs in the old testament. There is a whole chapter of songs in the Psalms. This excerpt with the word “COPY” came up in my search in BibleGateway. I enjoy the Message version of the Bible. I recommended to ladies who didn’t know about it in my book club this past week. We meet on Thursday nights, and it is such a blessing to read alongside these ladies and to discuss our heavenly Father.

We need to teach others how to sing songs, pray prayers, and simply BE with our Father who art in Heaven, hallowed by His name. We are a people in a fallen world, and we NEED Him desperately. We all struggle with something we are finding out as we share and pray for one another in this group of women. We have sickness, financial insecurity, fears, and woes as mothers and grandmothers. We are learning to LOVE one another big. We text each other, pray for each other, and read more in the Waymaker by Ann Voskamp. Ann is sharing her story, and in turn we are sharing our own stories among one another. It is a rich life when are willing to open up our hearts to the Holy Spirit and to other Believers. We can really see God moving when we pray. We can see Him moving in our lives when we pay attention and really look. We give thanks. We cry out for help. We know that if we copy the songs of the Bible we will experience his LOVE in our lives.

What is your favorite praise/worship song? Mine is Shout to the Lord…I’ll include a link to it below:

Published by graceglimmers

Seeking balance in a world that moves fast. Slowing to see God's glimmers of grace that abound around us. Growing in the strength of a Good, Good, Father who loves us unconditionally. Sharing the gifts of the gospel through words and pictures.

3 thoughts on “Copy the Song!

  1. Funnily I just acquired my own message translation today. I hardly recognise even familiar passages, which is why I love to read it and other different versions, to avoid me becoming too familiar so that I no longer hear.
    Learning songs really is very powerful! I still remember the first praise choruses I ever learned as a child, so love to teach them on to other children, so the words live on even if the heart forgets the Lord.
    My mother lost in dementia could sing Away in a Manger after she had even lost her own name. God knows what He is doing giving us songs!

    Like

  2. Sing a song before the Lord,
    be sure to choose it very well,
    for what you sing will point you toward
    His Heaven or the pit of hell.
    Dance a dance before your God,
    make it joyous, make it true,
    so that He is kinda awed
    by faithfulness He sees in you,
    and as you swing right past His throne
    do go ahead, extend your hand,
    for no-one wants to dance alone
    and He will see you understand
    that song and dance expel your sin,
    and you’ll have room to draw Him Him in.

    Like

  3. I also like The Message version of the Bible even though it’s not the one I use the most.

    Like

Leave a comment