Striving Again…


Strive. Five Minute Friday Post…

I am striving again. Striving for every activity to fit in. Striving for peace. Striving for achievement. I am a “busy bee.” I’m always doing something. I find it hard to sit still and rest. It is something I’ve struggled with for decades. I feel this need to please others and myself.

This can be dangerous. Trying to constantly make basket after basket in a basketball game would leave a player spent. They need the team. They need the coach. Life is like that…

I need God. I need Him to coach me and my family. We need him to center our lives around what truly matters. I forget to listen to my coach sometimes and insist on doing things in my own way and in my own strength. It leaves me exhausted and missing “baskets.”

I need a team. I’m not a solo player even though I sometimes feel that way or that pressure. My team is composed of my family, my friends, and my colleagues. There are even acquaintances/strangers on my team. I need that new massage therapist that is on the horizon. I need to relax more and let others help. It’s a struggle. I strive too much. I’m glad this prompt came up. I’m glad I have time to reflect on the need for the Coach and the team!

What do you do to cease striving? Pray? Sit? Take a nap? I think I may try all three today! Striving must cease. We must depend on Him and not our own whims.

Dear God,

You are our amazing Coach! Forgive me for not sitting on the bench to hear your instructions. I want to play “the game” constantly. I need to practice sitting. I need to practice using my team to supplement my own work. Give me the grace to let go. Give me the courage to slow down instead of rushing through tasks. It will all work out okay with or without me. You are the Divine organizer of things, not me. I love you!

Jennifer

Published by graceglimmers

Seeking balance in a world that moves fast. Slowing to see God's glimmers of grace that abound around us. Growing in the strength of a Good, Good, Father who loves us unconditionally. Sharing the gifts of the gospel through words and pictures.

3 thoughts on “Striving Again…

  1. Thank you for reminding me how much I need the team, as well as the Coach.
    To relax I read, or watch a film, or do gardening, or for a walk in the park.

    Like

Leave a comment