Holding Onto Your Opinion!


This week’s Five Minute Friday prompt word is “Opinion,” and I’m going to tackle that one here…

I have found that holding onto your opinion is critical…when you need to speak up you need to advocate for yourself or others. Other times, you need to hold onto your opinion in your mind but not with your words. There are certain people who cannot handle your opinion. There are some that need to hear what you have to say, and there are others that will remain unchanged even if you DO speak your two cents.

When have you had an opinion about something that needed to remain unspoken?

I encountered this situation over the past few days. I spoke my opinion on Friday night to many, but come Saturday I realized that my opinion didn’t much matter to others…only to me. I held my tongue on Saturday, and things went much more smoothly! I am learning to present my thoughts to the Father first verse spewing my own thoughts so vocally.

It is very natural for young men to be vehement, acrimonious and severe. For as they seldom comprehend at once all the consequences of a position, or perceive the difficulties by which cooler and more experienced reasoners are restrained from confidence, they form their conclusions with great precipitance. Seeing nothing that can darken or embarrass the question, they expect to find their own opinion universally prevalent, and are inclined to impute uncertainty and hesitation to want of honesty, rather than of knowledge.
Samuel Johnson

Romans 14:1

Cultivating Good Relationships

Welcome with open arms fellow believers who don’t see things the way you do. And don’t jump all over them every time they do or say something you don’t agree with—even when it seems that they are strong on opinions but weak in the faith department. Remember, they have their own history to deal with. Treat them gently.

In Context | Full Chapter | Other Translations

Published by graceglimmers

Seeking balance in a world that moves fast. Slowing to see God's glimmers of grace that abound around us. Growing in the strength of a Good, Good, Father who loves us unconditionally. Sharing the gifts of the gospel through words and pictures.

5 thoughts on “Holding Onto Your Opinion!

  1. Wise words.
    Thanks for sharing.
    P.S. I really like that version of Romans 14:1. Is it The Message?
    (Your FMF neighbor #19)

    Like

  2. If you’ll just admit that I am right
    and do not make a fuss,
    I promise you, you really might
    not be thrown beneath the bus
    of my moral rectitude,
    rushing on and can’t be stopped.
    It’s not that I’m being rude,
    but no-one’s ever topped
    my scintillating wisdom
    since maybe Solomon,
    so see me as a prism
    through which the truth doth come
    a channel through which God may pass
    as He laughs and laughs and laughs.

    Like

Leave a comment