A Season of Thanksgiving


This is November, the season of Thanksgiving. I love this month! It is the time of fall leaves, hot tea/cider, cooler temps, and the time that I get to travel to see my sister and her family in Alabama! Plus, as a school teacher, I now get the whole week off! I’m grateful for that. It’s been a busy fall semester for our family.

Here’s what I’m thankful for this season in the first few days of November…

Nov 1st, Candy in a huge Publix bag from a family who donated their extras to our class. It’s wonderful because I use it for positive reinforcers for toilet training! Also, there is a group of lower income students that waits in my hallway after school that I reward as well for good behavior/helping in my classroom in the afternoons.

Nov 2nd, Seeing a Memory Care place for my mom with my parents, aunt, and uncle. We were able to tour and ask questions. It was good for all! It gives me peace of mind knowing where she could go if something happens to my father. Her other choice is a beautiful community a mile from my sister’s home.

Nov 3rd, Two of the young three year old boys in my class successfully peed in the potty! They had the biggest smiles and we did too as their teachers! Kids with Developmental Delays are just precious. They really do make gains with patience, love, and a little bit of candy/stickers!

Nov 4th, Time to walk with my friend in the morning to catch up on our families. Time to go to Walmart to buy needed groceries and some early Christmas gifts! Yes, they have it out! Thankful also for a date night with my husband to our new Mexican restaurant. It was pretty good foodwise, and it’s always nice conversation with my best friend.

Nov 5th, extra time this morning to work on things online. The others are sleeping in. We’ll do church later and family pictures this afternoon! YAY! I’m so grateful to have this season of thankfulness.

What are you thankful for this week? Drop me a comment if you have time!

Psalm 100:4

Enter with the password: “Thank you!” Make yourselves at home, talking praise. Thank him. Worship him.

Published by graceglimmers

Seeking balance in a world that moves fast. Slowing to see God's glimmers of grace that abound around us. Growing in the strength of a Good, Good, Father who loves us unconditionally. Sharing the gifts of the gospel through words and pictures.

One thought on “A Season of Thanksgiving

  1. I’m thankful that I can still walk
    even though the pain’s severe,
    and there even has been talk
    that I’ll see out the year.
    That would sure be really cool,
    and though it’s now real hard to breathe,
    God still can use me as a tool,
    or so I do believe.
    At any rate, I’m grateful for
    this rowdy run of days,
    waiting outside Heaven’s door
    and finding all the ways
    to duck and weave and run and hide
    before I can be dragged inside.

    Like

Leave a comment