His Absence Makes the Heart & Body Recover


I have a very challenging four year old student. He is very strong willed and strong in his body weight throwing it around to his advantage for hugs and sensory stimulation. He has Autism. He has needs, but he also has extreme behavior that impacts not only the teacher but the other children in the class. I’ve asked for help. I have received some help, but it isn’t enough. When this child is absent, we all breathe a little easier…

the classroom is calm

the children and teachers are able to do more academic and social emotional learning

the room is able to rest at quiet time

the children leave on time vs. when he’s there he is with us until the bus arrives, the others are car riders.

I LOVE< LOVE>LOVE this little boy, but he has bruised my body and my spirit. I want to make this year work with him, but I would appreciate your prayers. For understanding, for discipline that works, and for a child to be tame enough to enter into a regular Kindergarten class next year. We have 9 months to get his behavior under control and help him potty-train. Wish us well! Jesus knows him and me. He will provide a way.

Philippians 2:12

Do Everything Without Grumbling

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling,

Published by graceglimmers

Seeking balance in a world that moves fast. Slowing to see God's glimmers of grace that abound around us. Growing in the strength of a Good, Good, Father who loves us unconditionally. Sharing the gifts of the gospel through words and pictures.

10 thoughts on “His Absence Makes the Heart & Body Recover

  1. It’s a hard place to be, and I understand well the love, and the frustration/need for just a bit more. May God grant you the grace and leading needed. FMF15

    Like

  2. Bless you for your heart and your work. Bless all the teachers who love their children and the families attached to the children. Teaching is an absolute ministry for those gifted in this high calling.
    I worked in elementary, middle and a high school during my working years. I was an clerical assistant for administration, and I am so grateful I got to watch people love children into learning. I also sadly watched teachers take such unimaginable abuse for the sake of children.

    May God in His sovereignty intervene on behalf of this child in Jesus’ name.
    Bless you for a miraculous year of teaching!
    Lisa B.

    Like

  3. Having taught 3 – 6 year olds for over 15 years, I understand how the absence of a particular child (or two) can totally transform a day and the normal dynamics, but also the great love! I pray you will all be protected and supported. The outcome that really matters is that all the children feel safe, free to grow and dearly loved. Bless you.

    Like

  4. Hi Jen, prayers coming your way, and for the teachers & child. I can relate to what you’re saying. Before I retired I was a Theraputic Support Staff, working in home & school with children with behavioral issues. I’ve been injured on multiple occasions. Has anyone looked into community agencies that may be able to offer support services in school?
    {{Hugs}}
    FMF #6

    Like

  5. They say I am a bit autistic
    because I do not like to hug,
    but I say God was quite artistic
    in making me a dancing thug
    who can break a haughty nose
    and in the next moment kneel
    to paint brightly my wife’s toes,
    for, please understand, I FEEL
    the things that you do, only worse
    for I am one scared naked nerve,
    and sensitive? It is a curse!
    But nonetheless, I long to serve
    the Lord that put me in this place,
    a most peculiar kind of grace.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Praying the Lord provides you with all you need, Jennifer. May He also bring this little guy progress this school year!

    Like

  7. This is a challenging road, but one with great rewards. Praying for wisdom in how to guide this little one. Have you watched any of the videos about or by Temple Grandin? A very insightful story shared from the insight out of how she processed autism as a child and how she uses it now to help the cattle industry. She has resources/meetings that help parents and teachers as they work with autistic children. Temple Grandin may have some helpful connections/insights for you, Jennifer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment