Do Mayhem with Friends and Family

I’m late to this week’s “Five Minute Friday” blogging party.  This week was a whirlwind.  It was the last week of school for our kids, and it was a modified mess.  My husband and I still had work, and the kids still had school…BUT there was a lot of extra oddness about the week: class parties, game days, early release days, etc.

The oddness began with a Monday monsoon.  It crept in on us in the middle of swim team practice.  We live in Florida so this isn’t a surprise.  However, the last year has been very dry.  We have had little to no rain most weeks.  Then, on Monday night…BAM!   Lightning hit and the thunder roared, and God let down buckets of rain to scatter us parents, kids, and coaches to the protection of overhangs and vehicles.

I grabbed my son and a neighbor boy with our towels and headed to my car.  I texted G’s mom to get my older son and her kids to join me in my car poolside.  I parked close seeing the pending storm on the horizon.

I would drove her to her car across the high school (about 400 yards away) to the football lot.  I have two sons.  She has two sons and a daughter.  So two wet moms and five wet kids were a glorious mess.  We were soaked…her more than me.  I grabbed two kids more quickly because they were already OUT of the pool.  Then she came trudging through the muddy floods with the others about 5 minutes later.  I tried using a golf umbrella to meet her.  That was silly.

We piled C and T into the back of my car and took that short trip to her car without seat belts for a couple.  This was SO exciting for our kids because:

#1 It was raining hard.

#2 These rule driven mamas were totally breaking “the rules.”

#3 It was a Monday night!

If this isn't the best picture I've ever seen. #momofmayhem #mayhem #masschaos…:

What I learned this week: Do mayhem with family and friends!

The week ensued with no less drama.  Three of us moms in our neighborhood bailed on Wednesday’s swim practice even though the sun was shining.  It was just too much ya’ll.  The weeks can be hard.

We need to make time to visit with each other and the Lord.

We capped off our week with a six hour pool hop from house to house with many kids in tow.  Moms and dads teamed to let the crazy shenanigans of summer ensue.  The pool hop is a neighborhood tradition that we all love.  It is mayhem.  It is joy.

Image may contain: 16 people, people smiling, pool, child, swimming and outdoor

I spend more time venting about my problems and bragging about my joys than sharing about my faith.  I’m a work in progress.  But, I LOVE LOVE LOVE visiting with friends and family.  I’m thankful to have moments to visit mixed into these wild weeks.  We’re in this crazy world together.  Let’s take time to love one another.  Even if you are an introvert like me.

piano quotes photo: Love is like a piano 18541_241686203210_837168210_311494.jpg:

I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me – the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.

Acts 20:24 NIVUK

Dear God,

You are the Master of our mixed up Earthly home.

Forgive me for when I see chaos and you see purpose to the race we’re in.

Thank you for your presence and peace amidst wild weeks.

Give me a heart to see the good around me. 

Give me the eyes to see others. 

Give me the voice to speak of You.

And, help me to be quiet to listen and visit with you and others more purposefully.

Amen.

Save

7 thoughts on “Do Mayhem with Friends and Family

  1. When things are busy, it is hard to remember to visit with God. But it does make all the difference, doesn’t it? Those surprise storms are sometimes the most powerful and glorious but it can cause some craziness. Glad the kids enjoyed the breaking of the rules for the moment. 🙂 – Lori, your neighbor at FMF #56

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You brought back great memories of similar when my kids were young – ferrying muddy footballers in the car and all the kids in our road playing on the wet slide in a neighbour’s garden after school in the summer term while we mums sat watching (and drinking Pimms!). (Your FMF Neighbour)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You did have a crazy week. Sometimes we just have to lean into the mayhem don’t we? Summertime at the pool with the neighbor kids was one of my fave things in the world growing up. I’m over in the #3 spot this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a fabulous week you had, mayhem and joy all bundled together to create some lasting memories. Your pool hop tradition sounds so fun!

    Visiting from FMF. Happy Writiing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

