Don’t Burn Out

Don’t burn out; keep yourselves fueled and aflame. Be alert servants of the Master, cheerfully expectant. Don’t quit in hard times; pray all the harder. Help needy Christians; be inventive in hospitality.

Romans 12:12 MSG

“Don’t burn out.”  I’ve heard that said before.  It appears today again to me in the daily verse over at BibleGateway.com .  It is intriguing to me that I’m writing because I cannot sleep well at the moment.  It is 4:27 a.m.  I’m awake because I’m thinking and over-thinking which camps to book for the final two weeks of summer that remain un-booked.  I work part time, and my husband works full time.  I don’t want either of us to burn out.

I believe there is a great balance to life.  I believe that God is faithful to provide us with opportunities for work, friendship, joy, and frustration.  Yes, frustration is also from God because He knows we need to depend on Him.  He knows that we are fallible.  He loves us anyways.  He guides us through each day and each summer with grace and interesting life lessons for all.  I’m not sure how these final two summer weeks will play out.

I prayed about it in bed.  I am going to trust that with a little planning on my end and asking for help from my super Excel spread sheet making husband we can do this.  I work on a really colorful paper calendar and in my head or on the internet.  He works in black and white spreadsheets with numbers, facts, and figures.  I think there is a delicate balance to this “business” of raising kids.  We will try our best not to “burn out.”

Our team fuels up with the flame of the Spirit.  We know God is alive and working in us and through us.  I saw my husband go golfing yesterday with a new younger co-worker.  He welcomed him to a new state with a trip to a small golf course near us.  He took the guy there and home because they are a one car family.  “We are blessed to be a blessing.”  This quote by Chuck Hodges, our past pastor at PTCUMC, rings in my heart when I see my husband do things like this.

In making time for ourselves and others we are refueling our flame to love and serve.  The soul care is vital for us to thrive.  Sleep is also vital.  So after this cup of sleepy tea and a drop of honey…I plan to go back to bed.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/5e/10/fe/5e10fe44c43ed66a903228ef3b1ec4e6.jpg From Pinterest

Dear God,

Give us peace for when our minds are restless.

Forgive me for wanting to answer all the fill in the blank questions immediately.

I need You to calm me down.

Thank you for Your presence in words we read in the Bible, in the words we hear from those who love us, and in the words we raise to You in prayer.

Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

