More Pressure

beautiful autism awareness logo Would make a great tattoo!:

Once upon a time there was a girl who craved less pressure.

Meanwhile she interacted often with kids who craved more pressure.

Together they created a balance.

She learned to relax as she hugged them and squeezed their little hands together.

The sign for “more” is learned.  The lights of communication is illuminated.

The parents smile.  The child beams.

Together the girl and the child rejoiced in pleasing “the parents.”

The girl who craved less pressure has succeeded in trading her pressure filled heart to others.  Opening her heart with grace, quietness, and control in a loving manner gives the kids a chance to make their message heard.  Give us all more “Wait Time.”


James 1:2-4

[ Faith Under Pressure ] Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

Dear God,

You created us each with a unique heart and mind.

Forgive us when we try to put ourselves or others into a mold that does not fit us.

Give us grace for today.

Fill our cups to full, and allow us to help others if we are able.

Amen.


P.S. This post is dedicated to the parents and children who know Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) far better than me.  Thank you for allowing me into your lives.  Glad to be a part of your world.  As a pediatric speech therapist it is a privilege and constant learning experience to work with kids who have ASD.  I am thankful for them showing me glimmers of God’s grace and discipline through their lives and my own intertwining.  April is Autism Awareness month.  If you see a child or adult with ASD talk to them or their caregiver.  They are special.

Temple Grandin was recently featured on TED Radio Hour: Overcoming, where she talked about the challenges and strengths that come from navigating life with autism. Visit fhautism.com to find out how you can have the opportunity to meet Temple and...

Autism, Temple Grandin, quote spread by  www.compassionateessentials.com:

Save

11 thoughts on “More Pressure

    1. Susan,
      I would LOVE you to be my surrogate MIL. Seriously! I did not see that Temple Grandin was inducted into the Business Women’s Hall of Fame. Well deserved if so. I’ll google that! I always like to read of adults with ASD who have successfully navigated the world we live in with occupations. It helps me teach kids with ASD and educate the families of people who have gone before their own kids and paved the way for greatness amidst “weakness.” Kind of Christ like now that I type that…we are weak, but He is strong. Yes, Jesus Loves me. The Bible tells us so.
      Love, Jenn Cook

      Like

  1. Beautiful prose today, on such a complex problem in our world. I especially love the line in your prayer “Forgive us when we try to put ourselves or others into a mold that does not fit us.” I’m guilty of this with the people and children in my life on a regular basis. Thank you for prompting me to pray for a heart change today.

    Andréa

    Like

    1. Katha-
      Thank you for reading and for your service as a teacher.
      It is truly one of the noblest professions in my opinion.
      I hope you have a wonderful week. Hope you see Christ in the faces of kids this week as well.
      Love,
      Jenn Cook

      Like

    1. Tara, I’m late to follow up on comments. We had a busy weekend! I will check your post out now! Thanks for leaving words of affirmation and reading the post! Have a good week! Love, Jenn Cook

      Like

    1. Amy,
      Thank you for you comment. I agree. I wish more adults loved on kids freely and with a sense of helping them succeed in this complicated world.
      Love, Jenn Cook

      Like

  2. Martha,
    Thank you for your encouragement and affirmation. I am a speech therapist and have been for fifteen years now. Hard to believe! I believe you are a teacher if I recall correctly? Jenn Cook

    Like

Leave a Reply

