What You Did Today was ENOUGH

Does any other person ask themselves the question at the end of the day:

“Did I do enough?” or is it just me?  That’s a rhetorical questions.  You don’t have to answer that.  I just am curious how you and I view enough.

Webster’s online dictionary…

Definition of enough

  1. :  occurring in such quantity, quality, or scope as to fully meet demands, needs, or expectations enough food for everyone

  2.  (my definition) what my mind and body could do today was done

The definition #1 above seems like it is filled with pressure to meet the demands/needs/expectations of others.  The cool thing about my later 30s is that it has been teaching me daily that “enough” is totally relative.  There are days when I have enough energy to clean.  There are days when I need to lay on the couch and zone out with social media or a book.  There are nights when I am happy going to bed.  There are nights when I am frustrated and even in tears.  Enough is enough.  You have heard that before right?

May we all be enough today for ourselves.  Know that God views us as enough when we choose to follow Him, love Him, and love others.  That isn’t so hard.  Love and rest are defined in many different ways.  Give yourself grace today.

God is all mercy and grace— not quick to anger, is rich in love.

Dear God,

You always reassure us that we are enough.

We don’t see what You see.  Forgive us for putting too much pressure on ourselves or others to be “enough.”  Help us to find the Spirit filled life lived in love be “enough” for us today.

Thank you Lord for places we can speak, write, and breathe alongside others who see us as “Enough.”  Give me the heart to accept others as “Enough.”  Take away the desire for perfection or plans to take shape.  Let me roll with this day.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “What You Did Today was ENOUGH

Leave a Reply

