The Noise of Boys

The noise of boys echos through our house.

They talk, they shout, they giggle, and the like.

“Ah I’m dying…I’m dying tonight….why do I have to die?  I’m going to fart on your face.”

“Someone once told me…surprise toy…wait.””

“Someone told me the world is going to end now.  So, I built a place called the International Space Center.  Sand paper versus sand paper.  What happens?  It hurts.  Tell me if this sounds weird.  ckdrjlakrjdalkj   I’m playing the shuffle boards.”

There Is No Buddy Like A Brother, Wood Sign, Nursery, Big Brother, Nursery Decor, Brothers Wall Art, Baby Shower Gift, Brother Gift

Photo by: VinylCrafts on Etsy

Two brothers engage, fight, and create a lively place to listen, watch, clean, etc.  They drive me crazy at times, but all in all I’m so very thankful to have children as an element of my life.   These boys are growing and changing every day.  They are still “young.”

My husband and I met “young” (Okay, not as young as our elementary kids, but we met in college.)   It is hard for us to believe that one day our kids will go off to college and start careers, possibly get married, etc.  Slow down for now…

“What?  (giggle)  I’m resting on your baby (a super wubble bubble ball).  I’m going to pop your baby.”

“Don’t do that.  Stop it.”

“I broke it.”

Intervention time for mom?  Maybe?  I still hear giggling and banter.  I think all is well.  I’ll let them sort it out and enjoy some office space.

Hope you have a lovely week!  Find some kids to be around.  They will make you smile in some way if you listen and look toward their direction.  Sail on friends!

“I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving: To reach the port of heaven, we must sail sometimes with the wind and sometimes against it, but we must sail, and not drift, nor lie at anchor.” 

Oliver Wendell Holmes

 

One thought on “The Noise of Boys

  1. I have no kids, never wanted any, and I’m glad, because I know myself. Currently, teaching in China, I am around kids all the time, and while there are some gems – particularly in the drama groups I lead with Chinese students who have better English skills – the regular English students in public schools do not leave me smiling.

    I see your point though. Even in my class of absolute monsters – the chaos is outrageous – there are 2 or 3 faces that are focused wholly on my lesson. Kids who want to learn and wish their classmates would shut up and let them learn! So yes, there are always one or two gems.

    I’m glad for you that your boys are close. My husband’s best friend is his brother, and it’s great to witness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

