I Will Hold Your Hand

Abandon is the word prompt for Five Minute Friday’s community blogging link up.

Go.

I have a fascination with hand holding.

I like my hand held.

I like to hold a child’s hand.

I like to hold my husband’s hand.

I like to hold the paws of animals.

I don’t want to feel abandoned.

I like physical touch.  It lets me and others know…I am here.

hands4

“You are mine for all time–and beyond time, into eternity.  No power can deny you your inheritance in heaven.  I want you to realize how utterly secure you are!  Even if you falter as you journey through life, I will never let go of your hand.”

Psalm 37:23-24 paraphrased by Sarah Young, Jesus Calling

hands

I love that this is today’s scripture on March 10.  I have a little daily devotional flip book thing.

This prompt and verse remind me of a pillow I made in high school my senior year.  These BIG denim pillows were given to us by our youth leader, Evanne.  She told us to decorate them and take them to college with us.  I did.

hands5

I proudly lettered my pillow with colorful puffy paint.  I found a verse I liked.  I don’t have the pillow anymore, but I do have the memory of it.  And, we will always have God’s Word.  This is the verse I put on that pillow:

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
Took me awhile to find it.  There are a lot of NIV verses about “right hand.”  112 when you search on Biblegateway.com!
Dear God,
You are holding us by Your hand.
Forgive me when I forget that and run my own way letting Your hand go.
I feel like a kid sometimes fleeing to hide in a clothes rack or something.
But like a parent, You find us.  You take our hand and lead us where we are meant to be.
Thank you for loving us without abandon.
Love,
Jenn

 

 

6 thoughts on “I Will Hold Your Hand

  1. Jennifer, I like the security that holding another’s hand offers. I love holding my husband’s hand. And when my boys reach for mine, I always like holding hands with them (at 14 and 12 1/2 that’s not always cool anymore).

    I love Is 41:10. And I love the picture of God holding us with His righteous right hand. Great post!

    Like

  2. Hi, Jennifer. I so get this. Hand holding is awesome! Security, safety, contentment, belonging. You’ve made me want to go hold someone’s hand now.
    Love this: “But like a parent, You find us. You take our hand and lead us where we are meant to be.” I love that He leads us where we’re meant to be. How comforting.
    (P.S. And thank you for sharing your lovely picture with us. I’ve often looked at your profile and wondered 🙂
    Shauna, your FMF neighbour today

    Like

Leave a Reply

