Well, That’s Not Me…

“But he knows where I am and what I’ve done. He can cross-examine me all he wants, and I’ll pass the test with honors. I’ve followed him closely, my feet in his footprints, not once swerving from his way. I’ve obeyed every word he’s spoken, and not just obeyed his advice—I’ve treasured it.

Job 23:10-11 MSG

Reading today’s scripture on Biblegateway.com I have to see that the author Job was pretty spiritually straight.  Well, that’s not me.  I’m spiritual.  I believe in God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit.  I try to do good, but if I were Job I would have fallen way off the path of righteousness.  Read his chapter (Job in the Bible) if you want to know more.

I’ve followed God closely, but I have swerved from his way daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly.  I do not obey every word he’s spoken.  I kind of like to make up my own rules sometimes.  I have not treasured his advice.  I look at it more as a suggested path.

snowbootspath

How do you feel about this passage?  Do you think you follow the path where the Father leads you?  Do you stray?  How would your cross examination go in Heaven or court?

Our life is a space for us to defend the good, love others, and choose the right.  It’s hard.  We will screw up.  Hopefully not jail worthy screw ups, but if those happen that is a real thing for some individuals.  God can redeem even those people who break laws.  There are Bible Studies, in prison ministries, and chaplains that witness to them or guards who pray for them I suppose.

bible verse pain is temporary | C. S. Lewis Quotes:

I’m not Job.  I’m Jennifer.  My trials will be my own.  My response to them will also be my own.  I hope that when I go through today my words and actions may be kind.  Patience may broaden, and my understanding of God’s Word will grow daily if I include Him in my destiny.  He’s everywhere.  I fit into His plan.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/6c/82/43/6c8243af42565c6c9d0d48c4e74cc14d.jpg

Dear God,

I read the Bible and know You are in there as a main character.

Forgive me when I don’t pause to include you in my plans or words daily.

Give me moments of quiet to ponder:  You, the plans that would make this day good, and accept the challenges of life as Job did by remaining faithful to You, Our Father who are in Heaven.

You are a cool dude God.  You never give up on us.  Thank you for refining us!

Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

