Who Has Control of Your Life?

Who has control of your life?  That is a question I asked our children in November when election stuff was brewing strong.  We have ten and seven year old sons.  They were somewhat interested in the elections, had seen ads, had heard names, and had chosen who they wanted for POTUS.

I was on the fence.  I did not know who to vote for…honest to God I was really bouncing between candidates and then I realized: “Who has control of my life?”  A profound question had many answers in my head….

God.

My husband.

My parents.

My family.

My friends.

My boss.

Me.

Ultimately we are in control of our own lives. 

It really is not the president/ruler of your country.  It is YOU.   We decide what to do each day.  We decide to chose love.  We decide to be fearless or fearful.  We have many authorities to obey, but ultimately each day it is ME who decides how to behave, how to live, and how to love.

Dear God,

You are the King.

Forgive me when I forget that you rule with love, fairness, justice, and goodness.

Please reign in my heart.  Please reign in my husband.  Please reign in our sons.

Your Spirit is big time awesome.  Your Spirit is our souls.  Your Spirit explodes and slowly oozes out of us.  May I be a vessel for your love and light.

Amen.

Better to be patient than powerful; better to have self-control than to conquer a city. Proverbs 16:32 <3:

Proverbs 16:32The Message (MSG)

32 Moderation is better than muscle,
    self-control better than political power.

p.s. Be patient.  Use self control, and be content today.  Love one another.

Save

9 thoughts on “Who Has Control of Your Life?

  1. Yes! Good word here! This is the wise and winning perspecitve! I (next door to you on FMF) wrote about human “controllers” and the futility of our trying to control them. We ourselves are the only people God has given us responsibility to control, and when we do that wisely, in dependence on Him to enable us, then we can even walk more freely from other people’s control.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes every man and woman for him/herself makes decisions, actions, and has that free will to choose the right, wrong, or best…all an adventure in learning. Jenn

      Like

  2. Hi, Jenn! Such an interesting take on this word today, especially in light of the recent elections. I love hearing about parents who didn’t just spew opinions and criticisms but chose to rather teach their children to discern the voice of God for themselves. I’m so impressed. Well done, Mom!
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting Shauna! I appreciate the comment. It helps me know I am not typing to an audience of 1. 🙂 Live. Love. Pray. Jenn

      Like

    2. Thanks for this encouraging comment. I think were were neighbors in Jan and Feb at FMF! We must have common blog/linking times! Cheers to a good weekend! Jenn

      Like

  3. THIS: “We decide to chose love. We decide to be fearless or fearful. We have many authorities to obey, but ultimately each day it is ME who decides how to behave, how to live, and how to love.”

    Like

    1. Thank you for coming by to read! I am glad we both have linked to FMF and to Christ. Have a good day! Virtual (tea) cheers! Jenn

      Like

Leave a Reply

