Connect the Dots…La, La, La, La

“Connect the dots…la, la, la, la.”  –Pee Wee Herman, Pee Wee’s Playhouse

When I was in fourth and fifth grade I watched Pee Wee’s Playhouse every Saturday morning.  I have always been an early riser.  Pee Wee’s Playhouse was a joyful show for kids and adults too really.

As a kid in fourth grade I had a best friend named Jessica.  She and I would take turns spending the night at each others’ houses every other Friday night.  Her parents were divorced.  My parents were not.  She had blonde hair.  Mine was brown.  She was delightfully extroverted.  I was the introvert.  We were dots connected on a page in history, and the sweet friendship bloomed.

As a kid in fifth grade I had a new best friend named Sara.  She and I also would take turns on Friday nights spending the night at each others’ homes.  Her family was Jewish.  My family was Christian.  She had dark brown hair.  I had light brown hair.  She was petite and strong.  I was taller and lanky.  We were new dots in a new picture, but that sweet friendship still exists.  We even had our first born son’s on the same day, but different years.

Our years will pass by, but our connected dots will exist for eternity.  I find God’s handing weaving together the most interesting friendships.  I see God’s hand in my neighbors being hand selected for me and I for them in all of the apartments we have rented and homes we have owned.  We are connected dots.

Connected dots don’t stay lonely as numbers on a page.  Connected dots allow the Spirit of God to flow between them creating lines and a grand design.  You know what I’m talking about right?  You see the connect the dot page in your brain right?

Our brains were made for connection.  Our hearts are connected.  Our lives are connected.

Do you allow for your life to connect to others’?  I try to.  I don’t always want the connection.  I have been better about appreciating all people this past year.

We live in Central Florida.  The Pulse shooting happened downtown in the streets and in a club that I may have been in when I was in my late teens and early twenties.  I don’t know.  However, I know that we are all connected.  I used to not like the concept of gay people.  I’m a Christian.  It says in the Bible that it’s “wrong.”  But, aren’t we all a little “wrong” and sinful?  Aren’t we all just dots on a page wanting to be a part of the big picture? 

I love gay people now.  Both in my head and in my heart.  I hope they will love and connect to me too.

christmasrainbow

The big picture is coming clearer to me as I enter further into motherhood.  We now have a ten year old son.  He is at the age when I was watching Pee Wee’s playhouse.  I remember that like it was yesterday.  I’m connected to my childhood.  I loved my childhood.  We want my kids to love their childhood also.  In connecting more with ALL people, we are modeling Christ.  We are modeling for our kids that we ALL matter.  Each dot is important, lovable, and a part of the big picture.

Dear God,

You are the Connect the Dot Designer and Publisher.

Forgive me for wanting to interfere with your design.

Thank you for giving me eyes to see, ears to hear, hands to help, and and an open heart.

Give us all the ability to see the “dots” aka people next to us as valuable. 

Help us to reach out and touch them.  Draw our lines into a picture of You.

Amen.

Tweet: In connecting more with ALL people, we are modeling Christ.  https://ctt.ec/78vVa+

Don’t tolerate people who try to run your life, ordering you to bow and scrape,
insisting that you join their obsession with angels and that you seek out visions.
They’re a lot of hot air, that’s all they are.
They’re completely out of touch with the source of life, Christ, who puts us together in one piece, whose very breath and blood flow through us.
He is the Head and we are the body.
We can grow up healthy in God only as He nourishes us.

Image by: David Hayward, Naked Pastor

Save

4 thoughts on “Connect the Dots…La, La, La, La

  1. Beautiful post! We are on similar pages. That’s where I’m at too….who am I to judge? Yes we are all Saints and sinners alike. Sinners in need of Gods grace. I’d rather be connected and show radical love in this broken world. Then to create more walls.

    Like

  2. Hi Jennifer, I understand your connection but I can’t say I agree with you here.
    It is ok to love every one but let’s love them enough to tell them the TRUTH! And love every one enough not to compromise or please them to displease God.

    Hope your holidays went well? I was so pleased reading your comment. I’m happy you were encouraged by it.

    With much love

    Like

Leave a Reply

