Ten Questions to Self

10-questions

My virtual “friend” and fellow blogger and God Sized Dreamer CEO gave a list of 10 Questions to ask yourself at the end of the year.  I liked it.  So I’m sharing it.  She is gracious to share freebies.  Thank you Holly Gerth!

You can click the link above or just ponder these questions live in your heart and mind:

10 questions to reflect on the year (free print)

I liked these questions for self-reflection.

I need them numbered though for my OCD-ish self.

  1. What went well this year?  I was able to work part time, mother full time, and travel a bit with my family and friends.
  2. What did not go well?  I stuck my foot in my mouth a few times.  I tend to speak quickly before thinking sometimes.  I apologize to those I may have hurt with my words.
  3. What do I want to do differently?  Listen more, talk less.
  4. When did I feel most in my “sweet spot”?  The sweet spot thing reminds me of Max Lucado.  He mentioned this concept of a sweet spot in his book “The Cure for the Uncommon Life.”  My husband and I were re-reading it this year in our bathroom you know because that is the only free space working parents have for reading right?  I would say my sweet spot continues to be moments of success and failure in my small windowless speech therapy room.  I work with children ages 2 years to sixth grade.  I love my clients and families and they become part of my own family.  I don’t detach fully…I know you’re supposed to, but these kids and parents are so cool and hard working.  I love them.  I love helping them.  I’m thankful they help me appreciate my own talents more.
  5.   When did I feel the most exhausted and drained?  Afternoons when I was running low on sleep or evenings when I fell asleep on the couch or on our bed before saying goodnight.  Life is hard ya’ll.  It is exhausting.  It is also amazing.
  6. What did I say “yes” to that I wish I’d said “no” to?  I said yes to my inner mom self: “Yes it’s fine if the kids lounge on their tablets/PC and don’t do chores.  They are good kids.  I can do some of that stuff.”  Inner dialogue and reflection in quotes here.  I wish I’d said NO to those thoughts/actions.
  7. What did I say “no” to that I wish I had said “yes” to?  I said no so many people and things it’s hard to reflect on that question.  I think I did okay on #7.
  8. What helped me stay close to God this year?  I did a Hello Mornings study via Instagram with a new group of women.   I participated in Moms in Prayer almost weekly with two girl friends.  I read books by Christian authors (fiction and non-fiction).  I reflected on God’s grace daily.
  9.  What did He teach me that I want to live out next year?  Wow.  Good question.  He taught me that I am broken and so is everyone else.  He spoke through a woman who is broken and continues to break daily for others.  I want to live out my broken, accept other’s brokenness, and be grace filled to myself and others I meet in 2017.  If you’re reading this Ann, thank you.  I know your humble heart is aching to hear that your words matter and Christ is being seen in you.
  10. I’m off on my numbering…ack!  Not sure what questions I missed?!  What do I want to do the same next year?  Found it!  I want to blog, believe, and be kind.

CHEERS to 2017 friends!  Thank you for reading the blog.  Thank you for taking time to love others.  Love matters.

Jenn

lmp_2519

lmp_2455

Photo Credits: Lucianne Marcus, LM Photography, 2016

 

Leave a Reply

