What Becomes of the Seeds God Plants in Us?

“The seed cast on good earth is the person who hears and takes in the News, and then produces a harvest beyond his wildest dreams.”

Today’s Five Minute Friday Post is on the prompt word: “Dream.”

What becomes of the seeds God plants in us?
Is your heart ready to receive the gifts and grace of God?
If His Word is a seed, do you take it to heart to help you grow?
Does the Spirit of Jesus change your actions and thoughts into new dreams?


Mark 4:3-8

“Listen. What do you make of this? A farmer planted seed. As he scattered the seed, some of it fell on the road and birds ate it. Some fell in the gravel; it sprouted quickly but didn’t put down roots, so when the sun came up it withered just as quickly. Some fell in the weeds; as it came up, it was strangled among the weeds and nothing came of it. Some fell on good earth and came up with a flourish, producing a harvest exceeding his wildest dreams.


My heart was ready to receive the gifts and grace of God from birth.  I was blessed to be born to Christian parents who baptized me as an infant.  They chose outstanding Godparents for me, and raised my sister and me in a lovely Methodist Church in our hometown.  We sang in the kid’s choir, the youth choir, were confirmed, and actively participated in the church youth group.  We accepted Christ in our own time.  For me it was a youth retreat in Leesburg, Florida that seemed to really bring to light the emotional connection with Christ.  I watered my faith through Disciple Bible study in high school, attended church mostly solo in college, and met a handful of kind men to date in my teens.  I finally dated “the one” that I believe God meant for me.  I married him.

“He said, ‘That’s what I mean: Risk your life and get more than you ever dreamed of. Play it safe and end up holding the bag.

  BarbaraPerrotti_2012_UnitedMethodistChurchofWinterPark_OilonCanvas_16x20_img

 “United Methodist Church of Winter Park”
God meant for me to stay in His Word.  Daniel and I were married in my hometown church (above).  We started our lives together in a new state and city that felt all our own.  We found a church home, and we got involved there.  We had our first son, and then we moved.  We had another son.  We found another church home after some trial and error, and then we moved again.  We found our present church home, and our dreams continue to grow in the faith and love that is found amidst Godly friends and leaders.
 wpid-img_0823.jpg  The Plaza, Kansas City, Summer 2009

Jesus told this simple story, but they had no idea what he was talking about. So he tried again. “I’ll be explicit, then. I am the Gate for the sheep. All those others are up to no good—sheep stealers, every one of them. But the sheep didn’t listen to them. I am the Gate. Anyone who goes through me will be cared for—will freely go in and out, and find pasture. A thief is only there to steal and kill & destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more & better life than they ever dreamed of.

In these past three years The Holy Spirit has continued to change my actions and thoughts into new dreams.  I bravely started a Moms in Prayer group.  Right now it only has two moms attending…my neighbor and me.  However, we have a strong Facebook group because many moms work or are scared or not able to make time for a weekly prayer group.  Today, I will meet with another local mom who is starting a Moms in Prayer fellowship group of her own.  The MIP staff emailed me her contact info since we live in the same city.  She will be starting one for the middle school our sons will one day attend.  I could not have dreamed this!  But, God did.  He walks behind us, next to us, and before us.  He is the Divine inspiration to some of my dreams.  I’m working to let him into EVERY aspect of my life.  How about you?  Who or what inspires your dreams?

DSC_3420
Dear God,
You place the word DREAM into Your Holy Bible quite a bit.
Forgive me for not recognizing that you are in dreams for many aspects of Biblical characters of the past and present.
Thank you for giving us good dreams and bad ones…it is in the dreams that we can uncover more of our true selves.
Help us to dream big and do big things as we step out into faith in little and small ways that matter to You.
Help us to wisely use and tend to the seeds of faith, hope, and love that You plant in us.
Amen.
9 thoughts on “What Becomes of the Seeds God Plants in Us?

  1. What a lovely story! And to see God’s dream for you played out in reality, in this short little love story. 🙂 Isn’t it amazing to think back on the many steps God takes to bring His plan to fruition?

    Like

    1. Jen-
      Yes it is SO lovely to see how God pieces our story together through experiences, people, and choices.
      Thank you for coming by the blog this past week! Are you going to the FMF Retreat? Jenn

      Like

    2. Yes Jen! I’ll be at the FMF retreat as well. Look forward to meeting you and other bloggers! It’s my first blogging conference! Glad it is a small and affordable one. Mommy road trip time will be nice! Jenn C.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenn, we’ve walked some of the same paths. My husband and I moved a few months after our marriage, to the other side of the country. It actually knitted our hearts closer together than anything else could have, because we had to learn to lean on each other first.

    I loved reading how God has multiplied the seeds He began planting in you. And what a beautiful answer to prayer for you . . . as your sons grow (I have two boys as well) into those middle school years, their school is already being covered by prayer. Amazing. Thanks for sharing such an encouraging story!

    And, thanks for stopping by my blog today. 🙂 Visiting from FMF.

    Like

    1. Jeanne-
      We found the same experience of a knitting of our marriage together through moves. You are right…we had God and one another to lean on. Love to you a fellow mom of boys! Thanks for coming by the blog this past week and leaving a comment. Jenn

      Like

  3. What a lovely story! I always enjoy hearing and seeing how God works in other believers’ lives. Every day I am so thankful for His grace and strive to follow whatever purpose He has for me. Sometimes it’s so easy to get lost in the everyday, and lose sight of the big picture. And that’s where the stories of other believers and the reminders of faithfulness are so helpful. Blessings!

    Like

    1. Amy-
      God loves you.
      God loves me.
      God loves every one.
      Thank you for stopping by the blog yesterday, and you left such a kind comment! I agree whole heartedly with you that in reading others’ stories or hearing them, we are reassured of God’s plan and purpose for each of us. Have a great week! Jenn

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

