Follow His Whisper

John 14:26

“I’m telling you these things while I’m still living with you. The Friend, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send at my request, will make everything plain to you. He will remind you of all the things I have told you. I’m leaving you well and whole. That’s my parting gift to you. Peace. I don’t leave you the way you’re used to being left—feeling abandoned, bereft. So don’t be upset. Don’t be distraught.

“Now it’s up to you. Be on your toes—both for yourselves and your congregation of sheep. The Holy Spirit has put you in charge of these people—God’s people they are—to guard and protect them. God himself thought they were worth dying for.

I follow the Holy Spirit when I write.  Sometimes.  I sometimes shoot from the hip, but it is so much better if I start the post in prayer.  A group of us ladies (and some men) write at Five Minute Fridays.  Bloggers who write for 5 minutes on a one word topic on Thursday night or Friday.  I’m an early riser.  5:22 a.m. EST right now.  Today I followed the Holy Spirit’s lead in sharing that in my prayer he said to me…tell others to follow my Holy Spirit too.

You see I’ve learned that the Holy Spirit does softly whisper to our hearts what to do in some situations.  I am a suicide survivor.  He whispered to me that late afternoon in 2011 “don’t do this…you have two little children, a husband, your parents, sister, and friends who need you and love you.”  I willingly went for inpatient treatment at a local hospital.  I’d been to counselors, doctors, and I was on medication.  But, I wasn’t feeling right yet…do you follow?

I am so thankful the Holy Spirit whispered to me that day.  He has whispered to me many times since.  I’m a living result of a Father God who loves to save.  I have tried to encourage other women and men who struggle with anxiety and depression.  I pray for them.  Sometimes I can go talk with them in person, by phone, or sometimes it’s just too hard to be close to a situation that is now in my past.  However,  I follow the Holy Spirit.  Do you?

Dear God,
You are the Holy Spirit.
Forgive me when I forget to listen to your whispers.
Give me peace and time to pray each day.
Thank you for giving me an opportunity to share my story and follow Your voice to a lifetime of love, truth, and life.
Amen.
DSC_2897
bryanAndMe
DSC_3171
p.s. It took me 5 minutes to write this post.   It took me 15 minutes to quickly find some of my favorite photos of this year and last that I’m SO thankful to be able to see.  God has given me the strength, love, and laughter to find joy amidst sadness and  bravery amidst anxiety.  We have two sweet sons who are now nearly 9 years old and 6 six years old.  They needed me.  They still need me.  And, my husband and I need each other too.  God can grant healing and hope.  He is the King!  Follow HIM!  Listen to His Holy Spirit whispering…stay in this…persevere.  Life is full of good and hard.  You have me.
16 thoughts on “Follow His Whisper

  1. Reading this post brought tears to my eyes – how brave you are to share this with us. I am glad you followed the advice of the Holy Spirit and decided to stay with us. God bless you and your family Jen. You are loved.

    Like

    1. Gosh you were up early yesterday too! I appreciate you reading my blog and always being a faithful comment give Colline! Thanks for your acknowledgement of this being a “brave post.” Yes, I often wonder if a FB or Twitter friend will read and be alarmed, but it was a truth of a time that I had. I figure those that read it will realize that sometimes really hard times are really hard. Reaching out and reaching up is our hope. I hope you have a blessed weekend. Thankful for the sunny days of summer! Jenn

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jenn,
    Loved reading your heart here! Listening for his whisper and following his inspiration or instruction is an amazing mystery. What a beautiful example of what can happen when you lean in to hear what he’s saying. You are blessed and WE are blessed reading your words and having you with us! xo

    Like

    1. Thanks Valerie! 🙂 I hesitate to share the dark…when I want others to know the Light. However, it is a part of my story. I bravely share it when called to. I figure those who click on it were meant to read it. 🙂 Jenn

      Like

  3. I’m so glad you listened to His whisper. I’m so glad the Lord has been helping you as you work through anxiety and depression. Both are difficult to see beyond on a bad day.

    I so appreciate the exhortation to follow the Holy Spirit. It’s only as we do that we can know His leading, and His peace, right?

    Stopping by from FMF.

    Like

    1. Jeanne, Thanks for stopping by from FMF. Yes…I’m so glad I listened to HIs whisper then and now. We do truly get peace from Him. I’m thankful that bad days do turn good. I’ve had YEARS of good, and I praise God for seeing me through a time when I did not know what the future held. It is a journey we all encounter those good and bad days…having faith in God makes those bad days so much more endurable. I often wonder how women and men of who do NOT believe have any peace?! Have a lovely weekend Jeanne! jenn

      Like

  4. Thank you for sharing your story. Thankful the “Holy Spirit” whispered to you that day too! A friend sometimes calls the Holy Spirit the holy 2 by 4.

    Like

    1. The holy 2 x 4! Love it! As we start to build our sons a tree fort, I’ll be reminded of that when I see the wooden planks go up! God is in the BIG whacks on the head sometimes…and other times the whisper! 🙂 Jenn

      Like

  5. Jenn…thank you for so bravely sharing your heart. His voice is so powerful when we listen, more so when we obey. I often wonder how many times I’ve missed blessings because I’ve neglected to hear His words. So glad He keeps speaking and so, so glad you heard His voice that day. Hugs, brave friend. And PS…kudos on the early rising…it’s a physicality I’ve yet to master!! 😉

    Like

    1. Tiffany, Thanks for the sweet comment! I have been so fortunate to be able to move past a very dark time of depression and anxiety. I’m now more sensitive to others who suffer. God has given me YEARS to process it. I’m thankful he continues to bless me with writing, bloggers, and our beautiful family! I am an early riser by the grace of God…always have been. When the sun goes down though…I start to fade quickly. Saw the Avengers last night…I guess I’m opposite of Bruce Banner…aka The Hulk. Being a boy mom you likely know the logic. The Hulk becomes Bruce at dusk…I come alive in the a.m.! 🙂 Jenn

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jennifer, thank you for sharing this. And it’s a REALLY small world – my own suicide moment was in 2011. September 19, to be exact. I’m so glad that you’re still here and I’m still here and we’ve met and are sharing in this journey together!

    Like

  7. His whispers are sweet and His kisses in the dark are precious. We live in the shadow of death NOT death. He has so much for you…get ready for the adventure. Get ready! Yours, as always, in Him, Chris~

    Like

Leave a Reply

