I Have All I Need

This past Sunday our female pastor spoke of the 23rd Psalm.  I like that one, but I don’t love it.  There are so many other scriptures that speak to my heart more than that one.  It seems to be one that is over preached to me, but not this time.

Molly gave the best sermon I have heard in a long time.  She spoke to my heart through God’s Word, and the breath of Christ filled my heart and mind to the point that I woke up still thinking about it days later…today.  I have all I need.

A David Psalm

23 1-3 God, my shepherd!
    I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
    you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
    you let me catch my breath
    and send me in the right direction.

Even when the way goes through
    Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
    when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
    makes me feel secure.

You serve me a six-course dinner
    right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
    my cup brims with blessing.

Your beauty and love chase after me

every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God

for the rest of my life.

Now that I cut and paste that scripture from the Message…I bet Molly read the Message too!  “I don’t need a thing.”  Can you say that?  Do you feel that?  If you know Jesus truly…you know a Shepherd is watching over you.  He takes care of every need we have.  God, my shepherd!
    I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
    you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
    you let me catch my breath
    and send me in the right direction.

I’m not going to lie, I’m a girl who wants a lot. I’m really into shopping on ebay, etsy, and in real stores around town.  However, in the new year I challenged myself to shop less for clothes specifically.  I have made it through the first quarter of 2015 without buying any new clothes.  My first quarter earnings have been insight into the realization that my closet and drawers are full.  I have all I need.

I’m not going to lie, I want a lot for my kids too.  I want them to be well dressed, well fed, and to have the desires of their heart.  However, the desires of their heart my not be needed.  They have a lot already.  Plenty of toys dot our floors and overflow our toy bins.  Our pantry is full of many choices both treaty and healthy.  We have generous friends and family who have given our boys many clothes to wear.  True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.  I want a lot for our sons, but true to God’s Word they are walking in the right direction.  Walking in love is what matters.

I’m not going to lie, I want my husband to be happy.  I want him to be honored, adored, and happy at the beginning and the end of each day.  However, I realize that is only my job in part.  He has to walk through the valley…the pit like places of our world.  I cannot be his savior.  There is only one God for him too, and it’s definitely not me.  He has me, and I’m a pretty awesome wife but he also has to walk in faith with Our Father.

Even when the way goes through
    Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
    when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
    makes me feel secure.

I’m not going to lie, I am a people pleaser.  I want to be the girl who can answer your question, give you hand, and be present for whatever you present.  However, I’ve learned each year of my life to respect myself and you enough to say “no” at times.  Sometimes I am meant to not be every where or have the answer.  I need to spend time fellowshipping with the My Father.  He fills my plate.
    You serve me a six-course dinner
    right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
    my cup brims with blessing.

I’m not going to lie, I want to be making a difference in this world. I want to contribute to my family, society, and friends.  What will people say about me when I’m not present?  Life is short in the grand scheme of creation.  I hope the love I have left impacts people with a glimmer of grace.

Your beauty and love chase after me

every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God

for the rest of my life.

Psalm 23 and any scripture becomes deeper when you meditate on it.  Think about it.  Personalize it.

Dear God,

You are the Word.

Forgive me when I read the Bible too quickly. 

Let me absorb your scriptures and apply them to my actions.

Thank you for the blessing of our church, our teachers, and The Message. 

You beauty and love chase after me every day.  Give me an open heart to receive Your grace & love.

Amen.

beach42015

 
6 thoughts on “I Have All I Need

  1. You have a witness here, girl. Our wants and needs are nothing in His hands because He always knows what we need and give beyond measure what the soul should have not what it wants. The Soul Keeper is about the soul keeping business and that is good enough for me.

    Like

    1. He does know what we need! The Soul Keeper is making me smile right now. Never heard of God referred to as the Soul Keeper…love that!

      Like

  2. I could meditate all day on the fact that He chases after me…my Shepherd will always come and find me, even when I hide. Such comfort for us and for those who feel invisible…He sees and He pursues. Love this sweet reminder of His word.

    Like

    1. Tiffany, YES! He does chase after us…sounds so playful and friend like doesn’t it! Tag…you’re it! I loved this version in the message of a Psalm of old made new for me too! Jenn

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jenn,
    It was such a delight to see your words this morning on my blog and it reminded me that I meant to comment on this one . . . but then I went to work, you know the story! So I was grateful to see your name so I could hop over here and say a resounding BRAVO to everything you pointed out here! I love how you admitted what you really want and that we do really have all we need — I can so relate! And I must admit that I was a little sad you hadn’t bought any new clothes yet this year — that is so admirable but a little something pretty and springy can sure perk us up, can’t it? Love this! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

