The PLAN in Planting

God spoke: “Earth, green up! Grow all varieties of seed-bearing plants, Every sort of fruit-bearing tree.” And there it was. Earth produced green seed-bearing plants, all varieties, And fruit-bearing trees of all sorts. God saw that it was good. It was evening, it was morning— Day Three.
For as long as Earth lasts, planting and harvest, cold and heat, Summer and winter, day and night will never stop.”
Abraham planted a tamarisk tree in Beersheba and worshiped God there, praying to the Eternal God. Abraham lived in Philistine country for a long time.

Psalm 92:12-15

12 The righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
    they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon;
13 planted in the house of the Lord,
    they will flourish in the courts of our God.
14 They will still bear fruit in old age,
    they will stay fresh and green,
15 proclaiming, “The Lord is upright;
    he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

Yesterday, I was challenged by a friend to share scripture on Facebook for a week.  I found the Psalm above to share.  Today, Kate Motaung challenged us to write about PLAN for a Five Minute Friday word prompt.  So when I went to Biblegateway and found that PLAN is in plant, planting, etc…I saw God connect the dots!

I love it when these Spirit filled words seem to flow together in my brain and heart.  God is THE PLAN.  God is in PLANting.  He was from the beginning.  He is today.

Spring is happening in Florida where we live, and my favorite yellow blossomed tree is blooming around town.  The tree is called the Tabebuia.  They are stunning.  They are simple.  The spindly frail branches give birth once a year to beautiful yellow blooms.  They are color pops.  They are hope to me.  I wrote about them a year ago. 

I write about them again today.  Our youngest son, Bryan, helps me each year play “I Spy a Tabebuia.”  He’s five years old so this simple game is still fun for him (and me).  Yesterday he won the “gold medal” for finding more than me on our car rides.  We planted one in our own yard the first year we lived in this house.  Three years ago it was tiny…now it is a tad bigger.  My hope is that we can watch it grown and bloom through the years.  Our sons will grow knowing that is a tree we planted.

Dear God,

You commanded that there be plants!

Forgive us when we fail to notice the plants or give you credit for their creation.

Thank you for the beauty unfolding in spring.

Help us to spy the beauty with child like eyes and tend to our faith with care also.  May YOUR plans be greater than MY plans today.

Amen.

ah

9 thoughts on “The PLAN in Planting

  1. I love this! God really is in the plan AND the planting. I had never heard of the Tabebuia tree so I had to go look it up. That is gorgeous!!! If I lived in Florida, I would totally have one or two of those in my yard. Now you’re making me wonder if I could grow one in Alabama 🙂 Thank you for stopping by my blog and your sweet comment! God bless you, friend! #FMF

    Like

  2. I agree that God is the one who is in charge of all our plans. On another note, I’ve never heard of that tree but it looks so pretty. And yes may we see through the eyes of children. Thanks for visiting my post.

    Like

  3. Enjoyed this post and how you brought your son into the power of looking for beauty. Awesome. Hope he always spies beauty all around him. Yours in Him….Chris~

    Like

Leave a Reply

