Judgment…Not My Job

For the Lord is our judge, the Lord is our lawgiver, the Lord is our king; it is he who will save us.
[ Judging Others ] “Do not judge, or you too will be judged.  For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.
Stop judging by mere appearances, but instead judge correctly.”
Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure, for God will judge the adulterer and all the sexually immoral.
A two night battle has ensued.  My husband and I rarely fight, but when we do it is awkward.  Hard.  When two people are non-confrontational at the core, and they conflict…what happens?  They are quiet.  They withdraw, and when someone speaks it is hard.  The words come out and pierce.  The tears did not flow two nights ago, but they did last night.
Women cry.  Men defend.  Women defend. We judge.  It is not our job.
Reading through scriptures this mornings has reassured my heart.  It isn’t my job to judge.  God knows each of our hearts.  I can come to His throne with ANY issue of the heart.  He knows.  He knows.  He knows.
Dear God,
You are the True Almighty Judge.
Forgive me when my ugly side rears and tries to play judge.
Forgive me when I doubt the love of my spouse.
We all cry out for attention.  We all must cry out to You.  We can also speak words of affirmation and love to our own hearts and to our spouse.  When we see ugly in the world help us not bring that into our own homes.
Where there is doubt…faith.  Where there is darkness…light.  Where there is fear…love.
Thank you for places to write.  Thank you for your Word.  Thank you for loving us unconditionally.  Teach me to do the same.
Amen.
saveus
3 thoughts on “Judgment…Not My Job

  1. My husband and I don’t fight often either. So when we do, it’s a big deal and will last for a few days sometimes. It’s awkward. And painful. And difficult. And I get frustrated because even when I am crying and angry at him, I still look at him and love him. That’s not something I knew until we got married. And I think it’s that love that keeps us moving forward. That and a dose of Jesus. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you for your sweet message! So glad to hear I have company in this lovely life of marriage and frustration. We had a lovely lunch date yesterday, and with lots of talk time we are good again. I love that marriage grows us so richly. It is painful and difficult as you say, but in those moments we grow and change. The dose of Jesus helps too. I went to Bible study yesterday and boy did what I find there speak to my heart. Taking the plank out of our eye helps realize that we are so much loved by God and thus can deeply love others too.

    Like

  3. I so feel you! My husband and I are like that, and it can be painful. He is usually able to let things go faster, which can make me more frustrated. Thank you for being brave and sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

