Lovely Christmases

A few years ago I picked up a velum wrapped card tied with a small white bow.  I loved the poem inside, and I keep it in our Christmas boxes.  Whatever you unwrap today, tomorrow, or this year, may Jesus be present.

Of all the lovely Christmases, the loveliest by far

Came with the angel fanfare, was lit by just one star.

Not Christmas trees, lights or bows, Nor fancy Christmas clothes,

Not carolers or cookies baked or hoping that is snows.

Of all the lovely Christmas gifts, the loveliest of all

Was honor giv’n by shepherd boys to a babe within a stall.

Not wind up toys, trains or dolls, Nor scooters, trucks or balls,

Not cozy robes or necklaces or things bought at the malls.

Of all the lovely Christmas joys, the loveliest must be

Knowing that the Christmas Child was born for you and me.

In servant-hood, obedience, Humility and love,

To save a lost and dying world, He left His throne above.

Of all the lovely Christmas gifts, the loveliest of all,

Was given by the tiny babe born within a stall.

To earn this gift I try so hard To be what I should be,

Then Jesus shines His grace on me and tells me it is free.

Of all the lovely Christmases, the loveliest by far,

Comes with the angel fanfare, comes shining like a star.

In life He taught, in death He bought,

His Christmas gift for me,

The light of Christ born in my heart to live eternally.

Written by Karen Cumblad

January 2013 166

My three stooges.  Love them.  The boys look like their handsome daddy for sure. #SurprisedByMotherhood #1000gifts

Leave a Reply

