Endurance

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us….Hebrews 12:1

Yesterday I completed a half marathon…13.1 miles.  I have been a runner since I was eleven years old.  I am now in my mid thirties…so I have been running for decades.  And walking.  There are seasons when walking has been more comfortable or doable.  Even yesterday.  I ran each mile with a 0.1 mile recovery walk.  It worked out well, and I finished faster than I did a decade ago B.C. (before children)!

Time has taught me endurance.  I reflect on that today.  I said the scripture above in my head…the last part was all I could recall.  I needed endurance and the presence of God and the hope of that finish line to get me through that race.  I was out of breath, my legs ached, I had chills, and I was hot at the same time.  I needed to go to the bathroom too…and I wanted to finish faster.  In the end though I wanted to find my friend.

Andrea and I ran the race together.  She is my neighbor and good friend.  We both had run a half marathon B.C., and now we wanted to get back into running and walking to exercise, talk, and prove that we still had it in us to run a race of this magnitude.  We endured.  We did it.  Motherhood is so much like an endurance race.  There is a finish line…but it is a long way out.

Out in the far future of when our kids grow up into adults and leave for college, but wait…even then they are still our children.  My parents still look after me, and I know adult neighbors who still have children at home for the holidays and some even in residence.  Like running life also deals some pain…

One mom I know is enduring a divorce…

Another mom is enduring a battle with ALS as her husband declines…

A mom in my neighborhood is still mourning the loss of her college aged daughter who tragically died last new year’s day in a car accident…

Three moms in the neighborhood are helping their mother or mother in laws with the aging process that sometimes takes away the memory; dementia.

Like running…Life also brings some joy…

One mom I know just brought her baby girl home from the NICU…

One mom is hunting for a new house and celebrating that her husband got a new job this year with better benefits…

One mom is glad her triplets will be potty trained soon…no more diapers to change or buy!

I am truly thankful for all of these older and younger mom friends and neighbors.  They teach me about endurance every day.  We are running a race called motherhood.  We are all running together.  We have different paces and obstacles.  Some years we walk more than run, but eventually we will finish and stand by Jesus.

Dear God,

You are Magnificent and Mysterious.

Forgive me when I doubt your plans and find frustration with sin in others and myself.

Give me grace, peace, and love this Christmas.

Help me to endure the race laid before me, and cheer others on as they run and walk too.

Amen.

4 thoughts on “Endurance

  1. Sandra, Thank you for your comment. May your Christmas be lovely and your new year full of days to wear fun hats! Your profile picture is adorable. Jenn

    Like

Leave a Reply

