Twelve Keys for Marriage Success, A Book Review

While traveling to Texas to see my sister and her family in October, I had the privilege of attending a MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) meeting with my little (big…because she’s taller) sister.  I was a part of a MOPS group in Kansas when we lived there.  It is a great Christian based program for moms with littles.  When you are new to an area or need to get out of the house for interaction with other kids/moms…this is a great place to go!

Going to MOPS was not always easy for me…gearing the kids up in cold weather, etc.  However, I went, and I often got nuggets of truth from speakers, mentors, and other moms that I still use today!  That being said, when I was in Texas (yeah, back on to that)…I heard Joyce Zook, an author speak.  She lives in Texas with her writer husband.  They both have become authors!  They are a military family, and they know the stresses that brings to faith and family.  Joyce wrote a book “12 Keys for Marriage Success” which I bought.  It was lovely.  I got many more golden nuggets of truth through her graceful wisdom and God’s Word sprinkled within the book.

Here is my book review…I don’t want to share it all, but if you would like to have a copy simply leave me a comment.  I’m not going to rafflecopter it off.  I do not have that many readers!  However, if you read this post and think you or someone you know could benefit from this book please comment.  I will mail my copy on to someone.  I am a read and let go of the book kind of girl!  I love to share books with others and go on to read new things.

12 Keys for Marriage Success has a subtitle What a Wife Can Do to Create a Wonderful Marriage.  I almost left that part out!  Irony!  I often think of what my husband could do to make our marriage better…however, there is a lot that I can do too!  I think of myself as doing things pretty darn well, but honey…we all have room for improvement!  12 Keys taught me that when I put the date night on the calendar just as frequently as my personal “me time” stuff it matters.

“She brings him good, not harm,
    all the days of her life.” Proverbs 31:12

Do I bring him good things?  I’m trying to.  I make him coffee more.  I literally bring him good things!  I am intentional about bringing him affirmation instead of nagging criticism.  Giving space rather than clinging tightly.  My husband is not my Savior.

I respect my husband and save time for him.  I blogged about 12 Ways to Liven Up Your Marriage during the 12th anniversary trip we took!  This 12 things is pretty awesome. Coincidence, I think not. God incident…absolutely!  So, please take time to make marriage successful.  It is a very important “job!”

Dear God,

You are marriage maker.  Thank you for making me a woman and carving a character, my man, for me.  We ask you to breathe Life into our marriages.  Yielding our hearts to you and loving one another is the Golden Rule and a true treasure worth polishing. 

Amen.

Joyce Zook is a marriage coach, speaker, and author.  If you are interested in knowing more about Joyce and her services you can visit her website: Practical Christian Woman  She was a dynamic and heart felt speaker, and when I talked with her personally it was lovely.  Rarely do you get to meet an author before reading their book!  Thank you Joyce for sharing your life and love with others.

To purchase her book on Amazon as a gift or for yourself click below:

12 Keys for Marriage Success

p.s. Joyce did not ask for a book review or ad…It was all my idea! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Twelve Keys for Marriage Success, A Book Review

  1. Jennifer, thank you so much for your great review of the book. I pray that marriages will continue to be strengthened and encouraged each time a woman reads the book. Joyfully, Joyce

    Like

  2. Thank you for the reminder that date night needs to make it to the calendar and not just stay in our conversation. I booked my MIL for Friday night and Im taking him out for sushi and to hear a band play! He was so surprised and excited!! 😉

    Like

    1. So glad you got date night booked…it matters to us and them! 🙂 marriage is a marvelous gift worthy of treasuring and tending! ♡ date nights!

      Like

Leave a Reply

