Gathering of Girls

Girls gather. We do. We need each other.

This coming weekend I will gather with 7 special women. Some I know very well…some I do not. It matters. It matters because whether we know each other well or not we need to be friends…or at least friendly.

God commands us to love one another…not judge one another. Girls do that too. We judge. Judging ourselves,  our friends, even strangers on the street or aquaintances on Facebook!  Why? Because we care. We care about our looks, our achievements, our dreams, and our day to day lives.

We live busy lives in this decade. It is a privilege and a reason to pause. This weekend eight women will pause our regular lives to play at the beach.  We need rest and friends.

May God bless you with both. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened,  and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 says that…but wait…ther IS MORE:

“Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:29-30.

What the what? I do not want to wear a yoke! Ah…but we are called by Him to do so. In that light I will make the lunches for sons for the thousandth time, do that millionth load of laundry, shop for the week ahead, and look for Christ while I am at home and in the community. He is there. He is here. He is working hard for you and next to you. 
We are called to serve. We are called to rest as well. Work on friends!   We have some yokes to carry!  I always wondered what it would be like to be a farmer. Maybe we all are farming our own fields!

Fields of labor require many hands. I look forward to reunion with friends I have met along the journey.  These girls represent our “Kansas farm days.” We intentionally planned for a group of girlfriends to gather at the beach in Florida for rest.  How will you labor and rest with intention today?

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Gathering of Girls

Leave a Reply

