Serious

minecraft

Serious.

Our eight year old called from the office to me in the bathroom the other day, “mom!  How do you spell serious?”

“S-e-r-I-ous”.  I’m cleaning the boys toilet.  Meanwhile…Addison is on minecraft with the need to type serious!?  And, our five year old, Bryan is fussing about his tablet being out of power.  Seriously!

The irony of motherhood never ceases to amaze me.  I smiled.  I’m cleaning a toilet…and they are so needy!  Seriously.

Ironic mom moment of the week #2:

Yesterday, the boys were in the back seat on a ride to the park .  We were meeting up for a kindergarten play date after school.  The little one, the kindergartener, did not want to go.  The older son and I out-voted him…”it’ll be fun!  The weather is nice…” yadda yadda.  Tears.  The boy was not happy.  Then between upset breaths, Bryan said, “Mom I’m hungry.”

“check your lunch boxes…maybe you have some leftovers.  I didn’t pack a snack.”  (Maybe another mom will bring something.)

More tears…serious tantrum…Bryan: “I don’t want leftovers.  I want Goldfish crackers!”

I bought a large box yesterday at the Pepperidge Farm outlet…but I don’t like food eaten in my new car, and I was rushing to get them at the bus stop and on to the park.  I packed a water cup for me but no snacks.  Surely they can wait an hour?!

Tantrum…back seat continues.  Traffic jam.  Seriously!

I said, “Bryan, if you can calm down and stop crying, I will stop to buy some goldfish crackers.”  He stopped.  Praise God from whom all blessings flow!  I still had cash in my wallet…I’m stopping.

We got another giant box of Goldfish…he wasn’t having it with the $1 small pack.  I agreed on the premise that we would share with ALL of the friends at the park.  Good.  We’re good.

We arrived at the park, and the Goldfish were a hit.  Bryan probably ate 100 or so!  Others stuck their little hands in that box and nibbled away.  They played.  Moms talked.  It was a good afternoon.

Ironic mom moment #3:

We went from the park to a weekly low key tennis lesson.  The kids play for one hour with a super sweet older coach at the back of our neighborhood.  The weather was cloudy, breezy, and great.  When we got home the kids and I unwound with some screen time.  Then, brother banter starts on the Wii.  They are fighting about winning/loosing in Mario Kart…who got more mushrooms or something?!  I told them to be kind or it is going off.  It went off.

Then our son Addison went off!  He was screaming…punching things…and acting like he was three.  I told him calmly to settle down or go to his room.  The game is over.  No need to keep fussing about it.  He refused…he continue to talk loudly about the game, his brother, not being hungry or tired, etc.  I finally yelled back.  Bryan plugged his ears…Addison was red in the face and startled too.  I told them “mommy’s going to take a time out to her room then.”  I came “Unglued” as Lysa T. likes to describe it in her book by that title.  It happens.  We are sinful just like our kids.  No one can be perfect.

Motherhood is perfectly and seriously ironic…easy and hard.  Fun and annoying.  Thank God we had no homework yesterday.  Dinner got cooked and on the table.  My husband came home and backed me up.  Our son finally went to his room to cool down, and we wrapped up the night with a much calmer family time of Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune.  The brothers slept together on the floor in Bryan’s room.  Love does conquer anger…eventually.

Be serious.  Be flexible.  Be real.

angryman

Mark 2:17

New International Version (NIV)

On hearing this, Jesus said to them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

Mark 2:17 The Message (MSG)

Jesus, overhearing, shot back, “Who needs a doctor: the healthy or the sick? I’m here inviting the sin-sick, not the spiritually-fit.”

Dear God,

You are Our Physician.

We are sick…emotionally, physically, mentally, and spiritually…sometimes one at a time…sometimes all of the above.

Thank you for being welcoming of sinners.  You love all.  You remind me that I screw up and our kids screw up…and it is ok.

We ask you to come to you in all situations and give us grace and space to breathe.

Amen.

Tricia Goyer quote on my fridge: “The house is a mess. I have no plans for dinner. The kids are out of control.  Breathe. God still loves me in this moment absolutely and completely.”

cross

One thought on “Serious

  1. Good job Jenn. Months from now you will laugh. I like your time out. You needed it. Not because you did something wrong, but because you didn’t. You were rewarded with a moment of silence. That is good……very good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

