Trust

Jeremiah 17:7-8The Message (MSG)

7-8 “But blessed is the man who trusts me, God,
    the woman who sticks with God.
They’re like trees replanted in Eden,
    putting down roots near the rivers—
Never a worry through the hottest of summers,
    never dropping a leaf,
Serene and calm through droughts,
    bearing fresh fruit every season.

Written in red on a cue card is this verse from Dolly at Soul Stops.  She posted about memorizing it so I’m joining in.  I’m terrible at scripture memorization!  I have a few…maybe three that I know chapter verse.  However, there are words floating in my head constantly…I read somewhere…

So I’m taking the step to write it.  I heard on the radio yesterday that students who write out their class notes versus type them into a computer actually remembered more.  There is something about the pen (Sharpee) to paper that helps.  We’ll see.  I’ll keep you posted.  We also have a memory verse this week for Community Bible Study.  We’ll see if I remember two!  🙂  Please God whisper Your Word to me.

What do you do to help remember scripture?  Whisper to me in the comments. 🙂  I’m a fan of those kid songs/tunes.  We need more of those for adults.  I also love color!  So I wrote me Jeremiah verse in red Sharpee on a cue card.  I write on my calendar in colors also.  Colors stand out to me, and they are just more fun.

Cheers to you as you start your Friday!  I’m off to start mine!  Linking with Five Minute Fridays…prompt Whisper.  See side bar for link.

"Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD... He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit."  Jeremiah 17:7-8

http://www.worth1000.com/entries/199340/rooted-faith Found on Pinterest search with verse above.  God whispers to me in images on Pinterest too.  So glad there are artists out there putting their creativity to the glory of God! 

 

5 thoughts on “Trust

  1. Hi there! I love that you are my fmf neighbor and that you posted about Scripture memory. I figure if he tells us to hide His Word in our hearts, He will show us how 🙂 I use ‘Scripture Typer’ that Ann Voskamp suggested. I especially use the recording feature for each new verse or set of verses that I am seeking to memorize. I record them myself and listen to them over and over. I don’t actually set any goals for memorizing, though that happens. I just try to sink into them and see them written on my heart 🙂 I can’t imagine living any other way…yes, ‘whisper’ these words. And I also love these verses in Jeremiah 17. Blessings sister!

    Like

    1. Abigail,
      I will check out the Scripture Typer by A.V.! I love that sweet lady, whom I’ve never met, but feel I know! 🙂
      Is it an app for your phone? I will look for it when I log out. I was playing with my widgets to make sure Kate’s site shows up on my side bar. It does now! That took 15 minutes when the post took 5! 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful weekend. Thanks for stopping by to whisper to me. Jenn

      Like

Leave a Reply

