Awesome Loving Supporters

The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge has been in social media and talked about by people across our country, and perhaps the world is noticing.  I woke early this morning though thinking of my neighbor, Kim.  Her husband has ALS.  If my husband had ALS how would I feel?  What would I do?  I thought of a new acronym:

Awesome

Loving

Supporters

Awesome Loving Supporters are behind the scenes of this disease.  They are taking care of someone they love and watching them slowly change.  ALS is a debilitating disease with no cure.  It affects every muscle of the body.  Right now, Kim’s husband is having trouble walking and breathing.  He is tired.  She is tired.  But, I am praying for her, her daughters, and of course Chris.  He is the man I know but have not seen lately.  He is surrounded by supporters.  We can be ALS.

What is ALS?  To learn more visit their website at: www.alsa.org A brief definition of ALS is as follows:

A-myo-trophic comes from the Greek language. “A” means no or negative.

“Myo” refers to muscle, and “Trophic” means nourishment–”No muscle nourishment.”

When a muscle has no nourishment, it “atrophies” or wastes away.

“Lateral” identifies the areas in a person’s spinal cord where portions of the nerve cells that signal and control the muscles are located.

As this area degenerates it leads to scarring or hardening (“sclerosis”) in the region.

Just as the person suffering from ALS is going through no muscle nourishment…their caregivers are hurting too.  I know the pains of depression and anxiety, so I can imagine they have those same feelings as well.  My husband and friends rallied around me when I was at my lowest in Kansas back in 2010-2011.  Those girls sent me cards of encouragement, small gifts, spent time with me, and brought me meals.  I was challenged by my friend Jen (one of those sweet awesome loving supporters) to do the ice bucket challenge.  Since my boys have already done it, I want to do mine differently.  I am challenging myself and you to find someone you know that needs a helping hand.  Someone who is suffering or is helping someone who is suffering from any sort of challenge…medical, emotional, financial.  Help encourage someone you know or a stranger today. 

God is with us in those moments of service and love.  He is a whisper.  His Spirit calls us to pray for them and help them.  Do what your heart tells you to do.  Give love.  Be an Awesome Loving Supporter to cheer someone on!

Dear God,

You are an Awesome Loving Supporter to us.

Forgive us when we forget to be supportive or loving to others in need.

We ask you to give us hearts of action.  Help us to go out and love on others by calling them or writing to encourage them.

We yield our lives to you and accept the challenges you give us.  Challenges give us a need for You.

Amen.

Romans 11:17-19

17 But if some of the branches were broken off, and you, although a wild olive shoot, were grafted in among the others and now share in the nourishing root[ of the olive tree, 18 do not be arrogant toward the branches. If you are, remember it is not you who support the root, but the root that supports you. 19 Then you will say, “Branches were broken off so that I might be grafted in.”

Ancient Olive trees in Pelion,Greece

where olives were said to be discovered first.

Some are said to be 2000 years old.

From a Pinterest search of this Bible verse above, this image was located on The Kictchen Project.

 

Leave a Reply

