Begin. Even When It’s Hard…

nd1 nd2 nd3

Begin.  Even when it is hard…

I tell myself to begin that book, begin that chore, begin that attention directed to my child not another task, and when we begin we blossom.  We may not finish the task, but we at least allow our self to grow.  We never get stronger, smarter, or more connected to others if we do not begin.  Walking out the door with your running shoes on means you are walking!  You can run if you want to, but a walk is good exercise too!

Good books are only good if we read them.  I have so many that sit unopened.  Then I have more that are half read.  This past week I was blessed with time away.  Just me and my parents on a vacation to North Dakota to celebrate my cousin’s wedding.  My mom grew up there.  In the plains of North Dakota the pace is different.  I feel like walk back into a less hurried time and place.  The houses are smaller, and the landscape is bigger.  The people are nicer, and the family time is pure.  While there I finished reading two books!  A mom rarely completes two books all year (unless an avid reader) much less two in one week!

A week of time away from my spouse and kids was hard and easy.  I loved the peace and quiet.  I liked the time talking with aunts, uncles, cousins, and new friends.  However, I missed the familiarity of home…my bed, my family, and my schedule.  It’s funny how that goes.  You want to go away, and then you miss what you left.  However, I am glad that my mom had a beginning in North Dakota.  Without that I would never know of that special place.  God made some amazing landscapes and it is in beginning to notice those that we realize that many people live in different ways than our own.  I will begin a new book today perhaps.  But, more likely I will begin to make breakfast for myself and our kids.  Start the Keurig for my husband, and take a morning shower with my husband.  Because…when we begin our day with those that we love…that is what truly matters.

Dear God,

Thank you for the beginnings we each have.

The beginning of books, days, and lives all have a special purpose.

You are the Creator.

Forgive us when we get stuck and feel incapable of beginning new tasks.

Give us the courage to GO!  You go with us wherever the days may lead.

Amen.

Revelation 22:13

I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”
 
 

 

thmb531952bcc9626

Linking with Lisa Jo Baker for Five Minute Fridays here.

8 thoughts on “Begin. Even When It’s Hard…

  1. Popped over from fmf – it’s the picture that pulled me up the road to join you 🙂 I often put things off because I worry about the time and the end but the first step is to begin – this is such wonderful reminder that finishing starts with a beginning thank you 🙂

    Like

    1. Beth, Thanks for your words of affirmation! ❤ New beginnings are splendid. Hope your day is off to a great start…and if not…there is always tomorrow! 😉 jkc

      Like

Leave a Reply

