I Belong Awake

I belong awake.

It is 4:22 a.m.  I’ve already been awake for an hour.  Some days I “sleep in” until 6 or 7 a.m., but those days are rare.

Why? Why am I up so freaking early?  I ask God some days, and I ask myself…

Is it because I need to go to the bathroom?  Check did that…still cannot fall back asleep.

Is it because I need to pray?  Check did that.  Okay now what God?

Is it because the cat needs my company?  Probably not.  She is back asleep in front of me on the desk as I type and surf the social media web.

Is it because I blog?  Yes, I think that is the reason.  I have this quiet time.  This quiet place.  I belong awake to write.  I have time to Tweet encouragement, Read God’s Word, read the news, and respond to the prompt of today’s Five Minute Friday gathering…”Belong.”  We are the crazy bloggers who fill white space in the wee hours of the night, the spaces of quiet when our children are playing nicely, or now…when most of the world sleeps.

cslewis 

thmb531952bcc9626

Click the icon above to view other posts from fellow Five Minute Friday bloggers.  Today, the creator of this concept, Lisa Jo Baker is on vacation.  So, her sweet (and my virtual sweet friend) Crystal Stine is hosting today.

8 thoughts on “I Belong Awake

  1. I love the early-morning-quiet as well, and most days love getting up at 5am (not so early as you) so I can take the morning slowly and rest in Him a bit as the day begins.

    Like

  2. I’m learning to appreciate the early morning hours…there are definitely days when I’d love to get another hour of precious sleep, but there is something about mornings and words, both reading and writing them. 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful day, friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

