Release The Need To Be Noticed

Joining with Lisa Jo Baker’s prompt at her Five Minute Friday gathering…5,4,3,2,1 go…

Released.

I released the need to be noticed when I entered my thirties.

In emailing with my teenage niece, I realized that I have become less concerned about what others think.  I am more concerned of what I feel called to say.  I have released the need to be accepted or perfect always.

Perfection never really comes.

We strive for it, but I have released it.

I want to be noticed.  I want people to read my blog, and I’m guilty of looking at the stats from time to time to see how many clicks I’ve had in a day.  But really, it is not about me.  Our story is bigger than us.  In living a life for Christ, we release the need to be noticed.

We take a back stage to our human pride, and we step up to be bold for Christ.  We share our hearts with others, and we encourage our friends and family.  Praying for them is not always enough, sometimes we are called to speak up.

Speaking up can land us in “jail.”  In reading about Peter and John in Acts this morning, I realized that when they gave their message and helped heal a man…they landed in jail.  For real?!?  What the what?!?!  However, they released the need to be noticed and did as they were called to do.  Here is the result:

13 Now when they saw the boldness of Peter and John, and perceived that they were uneducated, common men, they were astonished. And they recognized that they had been with Jesus.  (Acts 4:13)

When we release the need to be noticed, and when we act according to the call upon our hearts…people notice Jesus.

Image

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for the ability to feel “released.”  Give us each the confidence that we need in you to be alone when called to be alone.  Also, grant us the words to say when they need to be said.  Also, give my mouth silence when I need to let you do the heart work.  Help us to release the need to be noticed.  A Facebook post, an instagram photo, a tweet, a pin…they may matter…but really do they?  Release us from the need to please.  Give us hearts and time with you.  There is a world out there that may or may not need to see that message or photo.  Help us carefully consider our motives and release our lives to You.

Amen.

p.s. I did go over my five minutes…I think I’m at 11. 😉

 

10 thoughts on “Release The Need To Be Noticed

  1. I love how this seems to be one of the benefits of age – that we learn it’s okay to release some of those needs. To learn to focus on what matters, instead of focusing on ourselves.

    Like

  2. It comes down to, I think, the need to focus on self in your world. Once we concern ourselves with the well-being of others, it is easier to release that need to be noticed.

    Like

    1. Dolly…tjanks for praying with me and blogging by me too on the web! Encouragement found in your blog and comnents…thank you for stopping by! Jenn

      Like

  3. “I realized that I have become less concerned about what others think. I am more concerned of what I feel called to say. I have released the need to be accepted or perfect always.” LOVE, LOVE LOVE this. 🙂 Thank you for sharing and allowing God to use you to remind me 🙂 what I need to release. Only in HIM can I do so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

