Trip Wires

Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250

To link up with similar bloggers: http://holleygerth.com/dont-pretend-strong/

I saw God before me for all time.
    Nothing can shake me; he’s right by my side.
I’m glad from the inside out, ecstatic;
    I’ve pitched my tent in the land of hope.
I know you’ll never dump me in Hades;
    I’ll never even smell the stench of death.
You’ve got my feet on the life-path,
    with your face shining sun-joy all around.  –Excerpt from Acts 2:22-28, The Message

Like David, I saw God before me during my bouts with depression and anxiety.  I knew he was by my side.  Now, I can rejoice because I did not die…I passed through the valley.  I knew my life was ahead of me…life in my children and my husband…my mother…my father…my sister…and my friends. 

My friends rallied around me when I called them from the hospital back in 2011.  I admitted myself.  I admitted myself to the hospital, and I admitted my struggles to my girlfriends.  I literally called them on the phone from the hospital and asked them to help me when I returned home.  My stay was short.  I was inpatient a few days while the doctor tweaked my meds, and I was able to rest.  I needed sleep.  By observing and listening to others’ stories, I discovered we were similar and yet so different.  I prayed for myself, but I also prayed for my neighbors on that floor in the hospital.  Wow…it was eye opening to realize the support that I had in place that some did not.  

Mental health is a fragile and huge beast.  There were so many of us there…so many of us struggling our own struggles. Thankfully when I returned home those friends in the neighborhood brought me meals, helped sit with me on their couches to talk, and would watch my children from time to time. One encouraged me to join the gym with her. I went reluctantly, but it helped…so…much. My family and friends did not abandon me, but I did have to call upon them to help me with my struggles. 

Struggles are like trip wires.  I had this revelation this morning as I entered our well-lit living room.  Our five year old son created trip wires out of yarn yesterday.  His own security system of sorts…

Image 

Image

Obstacles are present ever day in my life and in yours.  How we choose to react to them determines how the day will go.  If we freeze and do not move our day does not move.  If we work our way around, over, or under them…we survive.  Military personnel must be trained in this manner…alertness, prepare for the worst, and navigate to the best situation. 

The best situation is no trip wire.  Reality is…there are trip wires.  There are dangers in our fallen world.  There is good and there is evil. 

I’m banking on the good.  I’m praying for good.  I walked around the trip wires this morning.  I did not take them down.  I rejoiced in their presence, and I shared them here with you.  They were created for a reason. 

Dear God,

Thank you for planning our paths.

Forgive me when I do not fully understand the trip wires.

Life has obstacles.  Thank you for helping me around and over them.  Give me peace, strength, and alertness.

Your Word is precious, and it strengthens us.  Your Holy Spirit is also inside of us praying when we are not sure what to pray. 

You know our hearts.  You know our pain.  You are Peace.

Amen.

 

3 thoughts on “Trip Wires

    1. Colline…yes He did bless us with sone amazing neighbors at that time. They are still dear to my heart. I talk with them when able and a group of seven will gather for a girl’s trip to the beach in the fall!

      Like

Leave a Reply

