Why Do We Pass Through Valleys?

As someone who has passed through valleys, I was reminded of them today.  A friend of mine posted a photo on Instagram…she is in a valley, and she is questioning God’s faithfulness to her.  I did the same thing.  Why me Lord?  How long will I be here Lord?  I’m so tired Lord.  Help me!

Help is what we need, but perhaps it is in walking through the valley that we learn to define ourselves through the refinement of our character, our life habits, our friendships, our relationships with our family etc.  I do not like the valleys.  Who does? 

We each walk through valleys at some point…some for a day…some for a season…some for LONG periods of time.  I don’t know the answer to the why.  Only God does.  He knows each detail of my story and yours. 

Dear God,

You are in charge.  Forgive me when I doubt your plans and purpose.  There have been and will be times when my plans do not align with Your will.  Give us grace.  Give us peace.  Give us strength for the journey.  Help us bend so that we do not break.  And, please bend close to us so that we feel your presence today.

Amen.

Psalm 61:1-2

[ A David Psalm ] God, listen to me shout, bend an ear to my prayer. When I’m far from anywhere, down to my last gasp, I call out, “Guide me up High Rock Mountain!”
 
"He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand" Psalm 40:2  -Table Mountain, South Africa. From Pinterest search: “mountain Psalm”

C. Estrada

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand” Psalm 40:2 -Table Mountain, South Africa.

 

Leave a Reply

