Surprised By Fatherhood

And now see all these people doing the same, giving freely, willingly—what a joy! O God, God of our fathers Abraham, Isaac, and Israel, keep this generous spirit alive forever in these people always, keep their hearts set firmly in you.  (Excerpt from: 1 Chronicles 29:14-19 )

I’m reading “Surprised by Motherhood” by Lisa Jo Baker. 

It is great. I’ve been “following” Lisa Jo’s blog for awhile. She is a real, honest, and faithful mom.  She also has a strong husband Pete.

My husband, Daniel, is also strong.  He surprises me daily with his dedication, smarts, and humor.  He is truly awesome.

Fatherhood has surprised me.  I knew it from a kid perspective watching my dad father me, and I knew it from a child of God perspective feeling wrapped in God’s grace and love from birth to present.  However, now I get to experience fatherhood from a direct onlooker and partner perspective.  We are a team.  My husband and I have “grown up together.”  We met young.  We were in college and knew each other as acquaintances before we dated.  I think we both were uninterested in the other at first.  Then one day in college we sat and talked together in his apartment living room with he and his roommate.  There was fellowship there…friendship…connection.  We still have that.  Praise the Lord!

It takes effort.  Fatherhood and motherhood and marriage take effort.  God is key to giving us strength, hope, and grace for the journey.  Celebrating you today sweetie.  I love you!  Always,  Jenn

Dear God,

Thank you for creating Daniel for me and for our sons.  He is a wonderful dad.  He works hard and plays hard.  I’m so thankful to be his wife and the mother to our children.  We will travel to the beach today to celebrate his father, and I thank you for granting him yesterday…time with our boys and my dad.  We do boring and we do fun.  We do hard and we do easy.  One sunrise and sunset at a time is more blessed and beautiful with my husband.  May we yield our marriage and parenting continually to You, Our Father who art in heaven. 

Amen. 

“Becoming a parent is a lot like breaking up with yourself….
Children arrive and blow through what used to be your routine. They huff and they puff and they blow your house down….
It takes courage to say no to yourself and yes to someone else.” Lisa-Jo Baker

Image

Leave a Reply

