Just Breathe

Breathing is essential.

We breathe to stay alive.

We breathe heavier when we exercise.

Breath is so intrinsic, and yet we have control over it.

When I am stressed, I have learned that breathing is important.  When I’m not stressed, breathing is still important.

Yoga has been a great stress reliever and strengthener for me and my body/mind/spirit.  I joined yoga classes in Kansas at a local gym, and it was so wonderful to be led in stretches and breathing on a simple mat a few days a week during the period when I was so tired being a new mom (our younger son was a year old or so).  Leaving your child in childcare is worthwhile so that you can find some quiet time, rest, and strength.

Now, I do yoga at a local yoga studio up the street.  It is truly a wonderful place.  They even offer kid yoga one night a week so I can again go with the kids…otherwise I go when they are at school or with my husband on Saturday mornings.  Yoga continues to be one of my favorite exercise activities.  I also enjoy running and walking.  But, seriously, the yoga is really good for people who need to relax.

Relaxation through breathing was also something I learned at running camp in high school, again at hospital visits when I was inpatient for severe post partum depression/anxiety, and now as I continue to mother.  I pause to breathe and lay on the floor at times with my kids to do a yoga move in the middle of the day or the middle of the night to help me relax.  What helps you relax? 

I bend so I don't break - physical and mental #yoga #quote

Dear Heavenly Father,

You made us flexible.  Our bodies can move from the inside and out.  You gave us breath.

Forgive us when we sit too long or move to fast.  Help us to slow, catch our breath, and just be.

We ask you to calm our minds today.  Give us peace for the day…strength for the stress.

Amen.

Psalm 34:1-3 from The Message Bible

1 I bless God every chance I get;
my lungs expand with his praise.

2  I live and breathe God;
if things aren’t going well, hear this and be happy:

Join me in spreading the news;
together let’s get the word out.

 

2 thoughts on “Just Breathe

  1. I look at anyone who does yoga in awe. I’ve got to be the most inflexible person there is. lol It sounds like it’s been extremely therapeutic for you. That’s wonderful! I’m still searching for what truly relaxes me. Sitting outside in the early morning sunshine with tea and a journal is a great source of peace for me. Though, that doesn’t happen often. Like yoga, I’m sure, it takes us being intentional. Good for you in making time to fit this precious venue into your schedule. I hope it continues to be a blessing in your family’s life.

    Like

    1. Yoga takes practice for sure. I Love tea and quiet time too! Hope you have a peaceful day. Thank you for stopping by to read and comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

