He Will Not Grow Tired—But We Will

Today I read Isaiah 40:28-31 (again)…

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

The online devotional in my inbox encouraged readers to “Make a list of the reasons we can trust God – even when facing uncertainty.”  So here is my list:

1. We can trust God because he is powerful.  I am really weak in the grand scheme of things.  My actions will never outweigh His.

2. We can trust God because he is accessible.  When I am uncertain in a situation, I can pray to him any time, anywhere, and with anyone or for anyone.  I pray a lot in a day…but I could pray more and relax more (maybe).

3. We can trust God because he is our Creator.  He made me.  He loves me, and He loves you too.  He is certain about us.

The next part of the devotional asked, “Are you tired? Is God asking you to make some changes in your life? Record those changes in your journal.”  So here is that “journal entry.”  I do journal sometimes in a hard copy, but I really like blogging because somehow it is more visual for me.  I like to see my words hit the page from my fingers to the screen.  Plus, I can re-read it, and share it with others.

Am, I tired.  Yes, very often.  I wake very early “naturally” between 3-5 a.m.  I also go to bed early between 8-10 p.m.  Is God asking me to make changes in my life?  Yes, always.  I am a mom, a wife, a sister, a friend, and a daughter…there always seems to be things to “change” in those relationships.  I need more patience as a mom and more attention to the talking our sons do.  They talk a lot.  I zone out and do things I want to do at time, but I really do try to stop and look and listen to them.   They have good things to say.  “What is important to them is different than what is important to us.”  <—Wise words from my husband.

As a wife, I am needing to make the change of being a cheerleader.  I always wanted to be a real one…no go.  Not in my DNA…or in God’s plan for my life.  However, I can cheer my husband on.  He is in a season of work…hard work…he works long hours, and he needs encouragement to make it through the long days and messes of work.  We can encourage our spouses because they encourage us.

As a sister I need to be more prayerful for her.  My sister is 7 months pregnant.  She is mothering a really active and exuberant 4 year old boy, and her husband also works a lot.  She is special.  She is a Believer.  But, she also is real…fragile…and needs prayers for strength and patience too as a mom and as a wife.

As a friend I need to continue to reach out.  I like people to reach out and invite me to do things.  I am an introvert…so if I force myself to ask others to hang out…they will…and if they cannot…I can move onto the next friend in my “contacts.”  Women are often lonely just like me.  I can encourage myself to be in fellowship with other women versus grumpy on my own.

As a daughter, I need to call my parents more and make plans to see them.  I, again, often wait for them to call me or invite me to do something.  They may be waiting for the same from me.  We cannot have quality time in today’s day and age without careful planning and intentional action.  With jobs, responsibilities to organizations, hobbies, etc…we need to make time for family.  Family is very important.  Our family is what brought us to this place and time.

Dear God,

Thank you for your constant contact.  You are awesome!

Forgive me when I doubt your plans or my own.

Give me more trust in You.  Give us energy when we feel tired.

I give up my actions and words, and I hope to replace them with Your Word in real life actions and love.

Amen.

Image

  1. Image

 

 

 

 

One thought on “He Will Not Grow Tired—But We Will

  1. Loved this post. You are “right on” We missed you today. But I have plans for the future and will let you know what they are. Blessings on your sweet head ~ Chris

    Like

Leave a Reply

