The Son Rises Daily

“He who has the Son has the life.

He who doesn’t have God’s Son doesn’t have the life.

These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God,

that you may know that you have eternal life,

and that you may continue to believein the name of the Son of God.”

1 John 5:12-13 World English Bible

sun-crossImage from Google Images: Sun and Cross…Led me to Jill Samter’s Blog (September 2010) with the same 1 John message! 

Jesus is timeless.  Like the sun He is always present!  I love that Son and sun are homonyms; they really are similar!

Jill Samter’s post says this:

Nothing is more important that your relationship with Christ. 

When you relationship is right with God, everything else will fall into line too.

Nothing is more important than your clear understanding of who Christ is and what He has done for you.

Nothing is more important that your clear understanding of His love for you.

Wow.  Jill, you nailed it.  He nailed Himself to a cross for us.  He loves us that much.  Earlier this week, I posted about my struggles with anxiety and depression.  These feelings are real.  I still struggle with anxious moments.  Last night, I bit off my middle left finger nail to the core during our son’s swim practice. It hurts so badly today.  I wrapped it slowly with a Spiderman Band-Aid (boy mom) after putting some cocoa butter on it.  Despite the bright blue finger nail polish…I was still distracted by the hang nail and annoyed that I did not slow to find a clipper in my purse.  I yanked that sucker off.  Isn’t that what we do.  We want to be in control.  We want the fast easy solution.  Life isn’t like that. 

Life is a slow process.  There are fast moments.  But, these fast moments need to be slower to be happier.  I have learned and am still learning to slow down.  I often injure myself when I’m moving too fast (e.g. hit my head on cupboards or instantly bruise my hips on the corners of our kitchen island).  It is so important to slow down in order to be more happy.  At least in my personal opinion. 

So today’s challenge for me…slow.  How about you?  What helps you boost your happiness?

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for being our Healer and Helper.

Forgive us for not wanting more time in relationship with You.  We crave relationships, and we often seek out the wrong ones or hurry to talk to others.  Sometimes we need to slow down in order to pray to You and hear Your voice through the blessings that are surrounding us. 

I ask you to be with those reading this post.  Give them a big hug!  Help them know that they are never alone.  You love them no matter what.  Each day is a new day.  The Son rose and our sun still rises.  Help us to appreciate the many gifts in our lives instead of focusing on the things that are “wrong” with the day.

We yield this day to you.  We love you.  Thank you for loving us.

Amen.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Son Rises Daily

  1. Beautiful! Thank you for visiting my site and wanting to share. There is nothing greater than His love for us poured out for us upon the cross. I am praying for you this morning to truly surrender and allow His love to be your joy and strength. God bless.

    Like

  2. Slowing down and being mindful – 2 things I think would be great but never manage to achieve! Of course, compared to my kiddo, I am S L O W.

    Like

Leave a Reply

