What Goes In Must Come Out

cancer

Warning…this is a post by a mother of two boys.  There is “potty talk” included and some serious messages about cancer.  If you are not up for this on a Saturday morning please click delete or change web-sites.  If you are up for some glimmers of grace today through the eyes of a mom of two boys…bring it…

What goes in MUST come out.

Truth.

The other morning, our almost eight year old son greeted me and went to the kid computer as usual to play Minecraft.  He sits at a small red round wooden table that I bought for him when he was two years old.  It was a consignment piece…a little “crafting table” with a small matching red chair.  Little did I know that this table would come in and out of three homes and last this long!  Sometimes we buy good things and they change in use over time.  The little chair has broken twice, but we have managed to screw/glue it back together.

Together, our son Addison, and I wake before dawn.  We both like our “met time” and “screen time” or “quiet reading of books” before dawn.  He and I are the first born natural early risers.  We hit the pillow hard each night and wake each morning before most ready to do stuff!  He sat in the little red chair last weekend, and I on the couch reading.  He let out a big fart!  Then he smiled…looked at me and said, “Happy Mother’s Day!”  Truth.

What goes in must come out.

I confess I have potty issues too.  I have a very tiny bladder.  Our younger son Bryan and I are alike that way. We love to drink a lot, and thus we pee a lot!  Yesterday I had probably 4 cups of water, 4 cups of tea (various flavors…hot and cold), a glass of beer across the street given to me poolside by our sweet neighbor…we drink and talk while our kids swim, and a glass of milk early afternoon with the cake that Bryan and I baked.  Result…I woke this morning at 3:30 a.m. or so needing to pee like a racehorse!  Bryan still wears a night diaper…he sleeps hard and I do not have the heart to wake him to go potty.  Sleep is more important for all.  One day he will learn to wake in the night or early a.m. to go potty like me. 

What goes in must come out.

In my inbox this week was an email from a virtual “friend.”  Heather contacted me via email after seeing my blog, a tweet, or something?!  Not really sure.  She asked if I would use my blog to share her story.  I read her story, I googled her, I followed her on Twitter to see her tweets, and I agreed.  What went into my eyes needs to come out on the blog for your eyes.  Heather is a cancer survivor and a mom blogger like me.  As a child she grew up snuggling in her father’s coat when he came home from work.  Sadly…what went in had to come out.  Heather was exposed to asbestos, and as you may or may not know asbestos is dangerous to inhale, and it can cause cancer.  Mesothelioma to be exact.  Heather Von St. James shares her story with me and with others.  She asked that I share her story with you…

Heather Von St. James, Mesothelioma Survivor

Heather Von St. James was diagnosed with malignant pleural mesothelioma at the age of 36, just weeks after giving birth to her daughter. Today, over eight years after undergoing surgery and subsequent chemotherapy treatment, Heather proudly claims the title of mesothelioma cancer survivor. Heather gratefully and passionately embraces each new day of life and lives to spread her message of hope and inspiration to all those affected by mesothelioma. Heather knows firsthand what it is like to be diagnosed with this disease as well as the issues, questions and concerns faced by patients and families alike. She is honored to be able to share her story and would be happy to speak with you about it.

Mesothelioma is considered one of the most aggressive and deadly cancers; most people are given just one year to live upon diagnosis. There is no known cure for mesothelioma and the future continues to look grim as attention to the disease as well as research funding continues to decline. The only known cause of ‘meso’ is exposure to asbestos, which is still not banned in the US. Sadly, it doesn’t look like asbestos will be banned anytime soon, as there is too much money being made by using this deadly mineral.

Read more: http://www.mesothelioma.com/treatment/speak-with-a-mesothelioma-survivor.htm#ixzz31xvrsilW

What goes in must come out.

We have watched and heard of so many people…friends…family members…strangers battle cancer.  There are bad things in our environment that have come in.  They need to come out.  Please share this information with others.  Make healthy choices.  Love someone with cancer.  They are battling something that has come into them.  It must come out. 

Dear Heavenly Father,

You are Creator, Sustainer, and Life Giver.

Please forgive us when we hurt your creation with chemicals, electronic magnetic radiation, and other modern day toxins. 

We ask you to guide us toward health.

Help us share our stories of struggle so that others find hope.

We yield our lives to you.

Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

