Making A Man

This past Saturday night I took our almost 8 year old son on a mother-son “date night.”  Our church put on a set of plays…101 Dalmatians and Annie.  Magnificent musicals with many of our friends starring in the show!  We bought our tickets in advance…it sold out!

In a hurry home from the #inRL (In Real Life) women’s conference, I picked up Addison and we headed to church.  I had my mom phone ahead to tell my husband to have him fed and dressed in a nice shirt and shorts since we’d be short on time.  When I arrived at our house, Addison was in a crisp button down shirt and shorts.  He had been fed, and my sweet husband had put a to go container of hamburger and noodles on top of his car with our theatre tickets.

I asked Addison to hold the tickets in his pocket since I was in a dress.  I told him that on a date, the man usually holds things such as tickets in his pockets.  He took this job seriously.  We arrived in time for the show and found our seats.  We were at the back, but we had our neighbors behind us which was perfect because since my phone was dead from the day’s travels, I asked my mom friend to shoot a picture of us on our date night.  See below.

You see we as moms and dads, aunts and uncles, grandparents, friends of children, teachers, neighbors, etc.  We are making men and women when we interact with little people.  They learn by our actions.  They learn by our teachings.  God gave us His Word, and in it is wisdom to be shared.  The greatest gift is love.  When we share our time and our love with children…God blesses that. 

Dear God,

Thank you for being our Father.  Forgive us when we disappoint you.  Grace is perfect.  Love is enduring.  Please help us to share the grace and love of Christ in today’s word with children.  As a mom, I have two little boys who are growing into young men.  Give them a love for the Lord and for others. 

Amen.

“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I (Jesus) know you, and they know that you have sent me. I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”  John 17: 25

Displaying photo.JPG

 

 

One thought on “Making A Man

  1. What a day for you AND you had time for making a man out of your son. He will never forget the date and his future wife will someday call you “blessed.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

