Circles Part 2

I posted a while back about Circles.  They are everywhere!  And, they strike me as very symbolic.

Here is a second post about how I am seeing circles, praying in circles, and thankful that circles are everywhere around us…

This week I saw and heard about circles.  My sister shared the good news that she and her husband are having a baby girl.  The circle of life is happening in our family right now.  A new child will be born and the circle of life will continue in our family, and in many families this day.  Babies are born every day!  What a miracle…what a beautiful circle…the circle of life is!

As I headed to bed last night I saw a really cool circle on our bathroom floor.  Our seven year old had taken a stack of kid Brain Quest trivia cards and laid them down in a beautiful circle…cards spread in a perfectly beautiful circle.  I smiled.  I was not mad that there was something in my walkway…it gave me pause, and I admired his creativity and His message of yet another circle.

Image

A few weeks ago our family took our first Disney Cruise, and it was really special.  There, I saw many circles as well.  Symbols of God…glimmers of grace were everywhere speaking to me and giving me pause to thank our God for the gifts he gives.  Above, is Mickey at the helm of a ship.  The helm of a ship is circular. It helps a captain steer a ship, God’s Word and the Holy Spirit can do the same for us.  However, do you read His Word daily?  Do you hear His Word, and act according to His direction?  I know I often do not.  I am trying to allow my control of the helm to be passed over to Him so that I trust more and obey more.  Enjoying the ride of life and seeing His purposes and plans along the way, I actually feel more at peace.

Image

A compass is also circle in shape.  My younger son, Bryan, and I found the real compasses of the ship on Deck 10 of the Disney Magic.  They were large white columns each with a compass on the top.  Inside, I found a beautiful metallic wall art decoration also showing a compass above.  What does a compass do?  Like a helm, it gives direction to the ship.  It tells the captain which way the ship is heading and gives directionality for when the ship may need to change its course.  What an awesome analogy yet again for life and what guides us!  Does the Lord guide my path or do I wander alone through the day?  I think it is important to read God’s Word, the Bible daily, because if I do not…I am often off course and following the wrong path.

Image

Finally, for today, I reflect on this image.  It was a photograph of part of the carpet in our hallway leading to our stateroom.  The world is a circle.  God made it so.  I think this is also a beautiful image.  My husband and I watched “Gravity” on DVD last night…it was a rather boring movie, but the beauty of the world was there…visible from computer generated images of the earth from space.  We live on the earth with so many people!  The Disney cruise we were on had staff members from over 60 countries!  That is incredible.  This week there has been a mudslide in Washington state, an earthquake in California, and the continued efforts to recover the bits and pieces of a fallen plane from Malaysia.  Our world is diverse, deteriorating, and yet still under the control of our Mighty Maker.  He made the world and He still holds us in the palm of His hand.  His ways are higher than our ways, and I trust that whatever happens in this world is minor compared to the gift of eternity that awaits those who Believe in Him.  Heaven will be even more spectacular.  For now, I will enjoy the beauty of this earth.

Dear God,

Thank you for this day, and for the gift of meeting people that come from different places in the world.  Our country is filled with many diverse people, and even my neighbor across the street is from Cuba.  Cuba is a place that I have never been, but it does not matter.  My mom friend and I speak the same language of the heart.  The language of motherhood is understood in any language.  Thank you for showing us your face each day in new and surprising ways.  May we rest, talk to you in prayer (circling our worries with the trust in your control of the helm/compass), and may we see the circle of life here on earth as a blessing of grace and a journey of freedom in Christ.

Amen.

Isaiah 40:21-23

English Standard Version (ESV)

21 Do you not know? Do you not hear?
    Has it not been told you from the beginning?
    Have you not understood from the foundations of the earth?
22 It is he who sits above the circle of the earth,
    and its inhabitants are like grasshoppers;
who stretches out the heavens like a curtain,
    and spreads them like a tent to dwell in;
23 who brings princes to nothing,
    and makes the rulers of the earth as emptiness.

 

4 thoughts on “Circles Part 2

Leave a Reply

