“In Case You Forget Mom…”

Yesterday afternoon, our older son took his second of 5 first communion classes at our church.  During class, I take our younger son to play on the playground.  We went to the back playground where he plays with his friends and teachers during the preschool days yesterday.  It was beautiful.  I had not ever played or stayed there long enough to appreciate its glimmers of grace.

Here is the view…

Image

Bryan is 4 (almost 5) years old.  He looked at the cross I was taking a picture of.  I said “that is so pretty…you get to look at the lake and the cross every day you come out to play!”  His reply, “Yes, mom…it is good to take a picture in case you forget mom…Jesus died on a cross.”  I was blown away.  I knew he knew that the cross was a symbol for Jesus.  I did not know he knew the complete story.  Apparently in his preschool class they read a book about it yesterday.  I pried for more details…

“Who told you that?”

“My teacher.  We read a book about it today at school.”

“Oh that’s good.”

“Jesus died on a cross because some people did not like him.”

“Do you know the good news?”

“What’s that mom?”

“Jesus did die on the cross, and they wrapped him in special blankets.  They put him in a cave with a big rock out front.  But, on the third day he woke up and was alive again.  God (His Father) took Him to heaven.  And, when we die we will go to heaven too because we Believe in God and Jesus.”

“Yes, I know mom.  We read a book about it today.”

Out of the mouth of babes.  Little boys and girls always surprise me with their wisdom and sweetness.  It really is simple.  Help me to always see Him and his grace.

Image

“You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you,

and all the trees of the field will clap their hands.”

Isaiah 55:12

 

 

Leave a Reply

