Isaiah Is Lent Worthy Reading

Yesterday I posted about spring break book recs.  Today I have one if you like to read your Bible or are looking for a place to start.  Isaiah is the book of the Bible that I am currently slowly reading through verse by verse…chapter by chapter.  I’m on Chapter 53 this week.  I read with a group of ladies as a part of Community Bible Study. 

I have done CBS for eight years on and off again in four different cities.  Lots of Bible study and many magnificent ladies have crossed my path over the years via this special program.  This year our Orlando CBS is studying Isaiah.  This week’s words really touch on the heart of the Easter message for me.  I love it!

Isaiah 53:5-6 is our memory verse this week…I’m not gonna lie…I cannot memorize scripture perfectly.  However, in reading it and seeing it…I remember pieces…

Isaiah 53:5-6

New International Version (NIV)

But he was pierced for our transgressions,
    he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
    and by his wounds we are healed.
We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
    each of us has turned to our own way;
and the Lord has laid on him
    the iniquity of us all.

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for the ultimate sacrifice you made in giving your son to us on a cross…in Your Word…and in Our Hearts.  May we never cease believing and rejoicing about this marvelous gift.  Give us strength for today, and peace for journey that each of us take in our own places.

Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

Isaiah 53:5 tattoo-GENIUS IDEA! "he was pierced for our transgressions" on one wrist, "he was crushed for our iniquities" on the other, "the punishment that brought us peace was upon him" on one foot, and "and by his wounds we are healed isaiah 53:5" on the other.

Leave a Reply

