Spring Break Book Recs

Good morning, afternoon, or evening…not sure when you will be reading this.

Me, I’m up before dawn and having a cup of hot vanilla chai tea with a healthy squirt of local wildflower honey (helps with allergies).

Our family is almost to our spring break.  My husband took the week off from work, and our children will have a week and a day off school.  We are taking a much needed vacation, and I’ll share more on that when we return.  I love to read while relaxing.  What are you currently reading?  I would love to hear your recommendations in the comments!

Yesterday, I was blessed to hear from my best childhood friend on the phone.  She lives in New Mexico, and we live in Florida so it is always great to get a surprise phone call from her!  She and I talked for quite a while, and I know she is reading something good too.  Sara, make sure you comment so I know what to read next! 🙂

So…here are my spring break book recs (drum roll please…):

Image

Surprised By Motherhood by Lisa-Jo Baker

#SuprisedByMotherhood is a sweet read.  It is the true story of a mother’s heart and journey.  Lisa-Jo is a “friend” of mine via Facebook, Twitter, and blogging.  She is a real mom who loves her husband, children, and her Heavenly Father.  The book releases April 1, 2014, but you can pre-order now.  I had the blessing of reading the first free chapters as a part of her book launch team.  It is REALLY good…not joking.

Image

Little Bee by Chris Cleave

This is a book and author that I stumbled upon at our local library.  I happened to pick it up from the paperbacks that the library was selling for 25 cents!  I really liked it.  It is dramatic and a bit sad, but it is really a page turner.  His books are all very good.  I have read a few now.  I packed this one for our trip to give to a mama friend.

Image

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld

I picked this one up from our local library’s book sale also.  It was $1 (since it’s a hard back)!  I am currently reading this one, and plan to take it on our trip.  So far I really like it, and the author is a woman (didn’t get that from “Curtis”).  Her books have been translated into 25 languages so they cannot be bad! 🙂

Now for the kids…

Image

Diary of a Wimpy Kid, The Ugly Truth by Jeff Kinney

Again, thanks to our local library.  I picked up a book by Jeff Kinney for our 7 year old son last week, and he read all 200 pages by himself without any prompting!  This is a series so there are plenty more for him to read.  Now, we have this one on the docket for spring break thanks to a loan from a friend.  Using your friends, neighbors, and local libraries is great!  I also provided links to Amazon if you prefer kindle/your own copies.

Image

No No Yes Yes by Leslie Patricelli

These books are precious.  We have several of Patricelli’s books in the board book format.  Great reads for ages Birth-Preschool.  Our 4 year old son was reading this one to himself the other night.  My husband and I were smiling at one another down the hall.  We have read many of the Patricelli books and they are all funny and easy for kids to grasp.  Repetitive too so they can “read” to themselves by memorizing them.

Now, over to your my readers.  What is on your docket to read this spring?  Please let me know!  Have a great week and enjoy a good book!

 

 

Leave a Reply

