Loving Through Lent

Lent is a time where many people “give up” something for 40 days in honor of the great sacrifice Our Father gave up for us…His Son.  Jesus died on a cross for our sins, and it is this period of Lent that leads up to the death and resurrection that we intensely remember this gracious gift.  I decided to give up something simple…Words with Friends…a scrabble like game that I play on my phone many times throughout the day when I have a minute to spare.  I build words with friends in places I used to live and places I now live.  I even build words with my husband!  However, these are precious minutes that I really could spend attending to the now in front of me verses a game board of meaningless letters.  I also figured I could spend more time in HIS WORD.  That is something I need to gain more of…spend more minutes reading.

Reading posts of friends on Facebook this week I noted that several of my friends are giving up Facebook.  “See you after Lent!”  I have taken hiatus from social media before too.  That is a great thing to do from time to time…it gives you perspective on the draw it has and that you can live life without it.  What else can we live without?  I saw a friend post this to Facebook yesterday:

Image

If you want to read more about this challenge click here: http://www.whitehouseblackshutters.com/40-bags-in-40-days-2014/

It doesn’t truly matter the size of the bag or the number.  The thing that matters is the heart.  What are you doing to clean out your heart during Lent?  I am pondering that question today.  I do like to give things away.  Sometimes I am reluctant to give away the Word of God though.  I am praying through that as well.  How can I evangelize more?  How can I share God’s love today and every day?

“Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows; yet we esteemed Him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted.  But He was pierced for our transgressions; He was crushed for our iniquities; upon Him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with His wounds we are healed.”  Isaiah 53:4-5

Image

Found on: Sol Lym – Saved by Jesus

 

 

 

One thought on “Loving Through Lent

  1. Jenn,
    Thank you for this thoughtful post. I love the idea of giving up Words with Friends to spend more time with the words of God. What a great place to start the Lenten season!

    Like

Leave a Reply

