Give Thanks to the Lord

Psalm 106:1

“Praise the Lord.

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.”

Image

Yesterday, I took a social media Sabbath.  No Facebook.  No Twitter.  No Pinterest.  No blogging.  No reading other blogs.  No emailing on my lap top.  All in all the day went fairly well.  I lounged in bed a bit longer, spent a quiet tea/coffee time on the back patio with my husband with some reading/journaling…talking!  We went to church, spent time at a local lake with friends, and had a leisurely day all in all.  I did do a quick evening check of email on my phone because my sister had sent a message that was a “must read” according to my mom.  Funny thing was my husband kept showing me his funny Facebook photos or video clips, emails.  Oh, and my kids had our tablet out saying “Mom, it’s words and friends time!” Other bloggers have been doing this sort of thing, and I felt truly inspired by this:  

Sarah Mae’s book the Unwired Mom

I spend about 2-3 hours online I think daily.  Every. Day.  How about you?

I have a smart phone, and I check email, texts, weather, internet stuff, and Twitter on there too.  I am not sure if I’m being “smart” or just being escapist.  I find that being in the now is harder than being in the screen sometimes.  Being a stay at home mom is not an easy task, but in a modern world it is a definite balance between finding good things online and keeping friendships new and old going.

The Psalm I have at the start of today’s blog was one I flipped to in my Bible.  I was looking for a word of encouragement for a friend.  Moments later I opened an online email devotional with very same scripture…Psalm 106:1.  God had a Word for me today.  I found it.  Twice. 

Dear Lord,

May we always be thankful for the good you have give us.  May we see your grace abundantly in the little and big moments of life.  Forgive me when I lose patience with my children or others that don’t do things “my way.”  Give me peace today as we begin a new week, a new month, and a new day of summer.  Thank you for your enduring love.

Amen.

Image

3 thoughts on “Give Thanks to the Lord

  1. I have yet to cross over to the “smart phone” world, and I’m a bit hesitant just because I know how captivating they really can be. Taking an unwired day every so often is indeed a wise thing to do. Enjoyed your post from Gracelaced.

    Like

Leave a Reply

