Rhythm of Summer

Girlfriendology eternal summer quote

The rhythm of summer is that there is none.  We wake oddly, we go to bed late, and what we do while we are awake is subject to change.

There is something annoying about the lack of rhythm, lack of schedule, to this mom’s heart.  I like to know what we’re going to do for the day.  Where do we need to be?  When?  Who will I see today?  I like outings, and in the rhythm of going places at set times sometimes we lose the ability to relax and enjoy the grace and beauty of the moment.  What do I and the kids feel like doing?

The rhythm of counting those gifts of watching “Horton Hears a Who” twice in one day…because we have nothing on the day’s agenda is great.  Watching them recap the funny parts of the movie to their dad (my sweet husband nodding) at dinner is wonderful.  Imaginations come alive in summer.  We have plenty of time to be creative, play outside, and no homework…no scheduled activities to interrupt. 

Thank you God for this new rhythm and teaching my scheduled heart to relax more.

6 thoughts on “Rhythm of Summer

  1. See, and I’m all about discovering a new rhythm. I’ve been out of it for so long (…because…depression…), that I’ve descended into some dreadful habits of slothfulness. It’s hard to get back into the workaday world, but I have to.

    Like

  2. What a great summertime rhythm. Seems to be a common trend. I’m enjoying reading about everyone’s rhythm this time of year. Glad yours is a time to relax. Enjoy it to the fullest. Visiting from FMF.

    Like

Leave a Reply

