A Finish Line of True Reward

As a runner I really appreciated this quote…

“So whatever you face today, friend, run. Run to win the prize. Run like the wind. And when you fall; don’t throw in the towel, don’t point fingers, don’t stew, and don’t quit. Get right back up and run again… in the mercy, strength and grace of God.”  Gwen Smith

I try to run a couple of times a week.  Sometimes as a busy mom I only fit in one run a week.  Whatever I get in, I feel blessed.  I feel blessed to have legs that function, healthy lungs, and a most of all a strong heart.  A heart that is full to overflowing with thanksgiving, peace, love, and grace.  Most of the crap that happens in a day is miniscule.  What truly matters is the big stuff…our hearts slant, our mind’s perspective, and what spirit we let fill us.  Anger can creep in…frustrations can mount.  Selfishness weaves into our desires.  However, when the hard times come.  We must keep running.  Running to win the prize of eternal time with Our Heavenly Father…a finish line that will be so rewarding.

Rewarding me now are our two sons.  They talk about God.  They are working through their own faith race.  Here is my view…

Our almost seven year old son sat by the pool’s edge yesterday saying, “I’m reading a book about God walking on the water…” (pretending to read a pretend book in his hands…falls in the pool…acting silly and smiling).  He knows he isn’t able to walk on water…but we all like reading that story don’t we!

John 6:19-21

New International Version (NIV)

19 When they had rowed about three or four miles,[a] they saw Jesus approaching the boat, walking on the water; and they were frightened. 20 But he said to them, “It is I; don’t be afraid.” 21 Then they were willing to take him into the boat, and immediately the boat reached the shore where they were heading.

We row (and run) through life often trying to make it on our own strength.  It is when we let the Savior into our boat (our lives, our hearts, our race) that we immediately reach the shore (the goal of finding a destination).  For, it is in Jesus, we reach true strength and experience miracles.

One miracle view most parents have is tucking their children in each night.  Last night at prayer time as we tucked our children in…we lay with each of our boys and say prayers.  My husband or I lead the prayer, but we also leave a space at the end of the prayer for our children to speak…saying their name, “is thankful for…”  Our sons fill in the end of thanks…the current answers include these repeatedly:

“I’m thankful for the sun, rain, God, and everything He created.” (6 yr old)

“God.” (3 yr old)

The simplicity of a child’s heart is incredible.  Day after day, night after night, they trust in Him…give thanks, and by their words I am reminded that I am running a race that these children (my fans) view.  I pray daily that I run in such a way that inspires them to run in the direction of Jesus.  He stands at the finish line of true reward.

https://i1.wp.com/www.infinitypond.com/gallery/paint/assets/walk.jpg

Photo Credit

This blog post has been edited for 5 minutes…I have a hard time writing for only five minutes when I feel the juices flowing.  Have a blessed weekend.  If you wish to link up or see more posts like this visit Lisa Jo Baker’s page. 

10 thoughts on “A Finish Line of True Reward

  1. Hi, I found your blog through the 5 minute Friday linkup. Thanks for a great reminder about keeping focussed on the important things, and I loved the quote at the start.

    Like

  2. I liked you analogy of the runner {i am retired runner…always considering coming out of running of course} and Bible lesson of Jesus walking on water. “Eyes fixed on Him the author and perfecter of our faith” is the only view, for sure.
    Cheers.

    Like

  3. Don’t you just love the prayers of little ones? My 6 year old son can go on and on sometimes and my heart could almost burst as I listen to Him. In my mind, I pray along with him. “God? This. Please help him to hold on to this with everything he has as he grows.”

    Like

  4. Jennifer,
    Love your watercolor…and the prayers of your two sons…what a blessing 🙂 Thanks for tweeting me so I could visit you…Happy Friday as you run with God and your family 🙂

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on graceglimmers and commented:

    As our older son attend Vacation Bible School at a local church this week, I praise Him for opportunities such as these. May we run to Jesus as the children do, and celebrate the joys and grace that daily do fill our lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

