Changing Our Thoughts to Truth

Philippians 4:8-9.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me–put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

On Monday our son hopped off the bus with an “issue.”  He and another child had bothered one another on the bus.  Feelings were hurt.  The other boy’s mom emailed me about it.  I discussed it further with our son.  I called the boy’s mother back and left a voice message.  There are always two sides to every story.  But you want your side (and your son’s side) to be correct.  I spoke out of anger. Things spiraled on into afternoon and evening with our husbands getting involved.  Ugh!

A small incident became a big issue…speculations continued.  I realize today, two days later, that my thoughts are not always true.  Sometimes the enemy creeps in to create doubt, anger, and spite.  I want friends just as much as our son wants friends.  We moved here a year ago, and it seems so hard to crack the friendship codes.  Most people appear to have their friendships set.  You are in or you are out.  This is true for the kids AND the adults.  Slowly I am trying to realize that I should not take things so personally.  Things happen.  People screw up.  My kids, my husband, friends, strangers, and even myself will disappoint.

There is only one source of Truth that will never disappoint us…God’s Word.  Jesus was the Word made flesh, and he came to explain everything to us.  Just as people will reject me, I know the gospel story of a Savior who was also rejected by even his closest disciples.

Love hurts.

There is pain in the process.

“For you, O God, tested us you refined us like silver.” -Psalm 66:10

I have felt Him testing me this week personally and as a parent.  I was active in the fire of hurtful words and actions.  I did not follow our family rule of “Love One Another” to this other family.  I did not forgive…I fought back.  My test continues.  I still have to face being broken in front of this other mother.  I still have to be humbled.  I want to take control of things.

In reading God’s Word it reminds me that Our Father is there for me.  I do not need to pick up a phone to vent to my family or other friends.  I need to take my “stuff” to my Father.  He will change my thoughts into what they need to be.  I spoke words of forgiveness and love to our son right away.  Loving my children seems so easy.  I feel their hurts.  I see tears in their eyes and cry with them.  Extending that same love to others outside of my family can be tricky…those people seem messy, unworthy, but that is not true.  God came for them (and me) too.

Image

May today be a day that you see God’s glimmers of grace within the fires..And the God of peace will be with you.

Rachel Wojo

Leave a Reply

