Slow Down Today

Slow down today…what you have in mind may not be what needs to be done.

Slow down today…what your family needs may outweigh what is updating on Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest.

Slow down today…your chores can wait…your children want to play.

Slow down today…time moves fast.  This reminds me of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986).  Ferris says “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.”

Slow down today…read God’s Word and pray.  He wants to speak His Spirit into each of us.

Slow down today…hug a friend or give a high five if you/they are not into hugging.

Slow down today…think before you act, so that your actions reveal love and light.

“But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what he has done has been done through God.” John 3:21

I have all ready snapped at my son for cutting into my quiet time.  I have things to do today, and don’t we all?  After reading “Pursuing That Which Takes Time” by Gracelaced and my Bible…I feel a change of heart.   I will now slowly go forward with my day.  Focused more on showing His Light and God’s Love to those around me.

Image

“It’s bad enough wasting time without killing it.” –The Phantom Tollbooth, Norton Juster

Dear Lord,

Help me not to waste or kill time.  My memories are in the making now.  I need to slow down, soak in the moments, and breathe deep.  I need to get things done and relax.  Help me to always be looking for grace.  Your gifts are abundant.  Thank you for time.  Help me to fully live in Your presence; it is all around me.

Amen.

p.s. If you have an ipad or iphone and wish to count your gifts…Here is a fee app courtesy of Ann Voskamp to count 1000 Gifts! 

5 thoughts on “Slow Down Today

    1. I just hopped over to your blog! I bought your book! 🙂 I call our youngest son, my turtle. He travels slowly, but he reminds me to slow down to preschool pace. It is a good thing! We have turtles in our back yard daily…such a neat animal. His birthday is next month so I will wrap it up for a gift. We love to read. Blessings to you. Hope your sewing project goes well today!

      Like

Leave a Reply

