Christ in a Camera

Christ is in my camera.  I know…it’s weird.  However, when I am looking for the gifts that surround me all I have to do is look.  And, when I look I see beauty.  I often run to get our camera…the big one.  My husband insisted on a nice camera a year or so ago, and what a smart man he is.

Our camera takes really stunning pictures, and it allows me to zoom in on the beauty of our boys, our home, and the wonders of God’s glory in nature and experiences in action.  This week I was on edge.  I was grumpy.  Short on sleep, high on stuff to do…I try to slow…get the camera out and take photos of the gifts. 

Ann Voskamp encourages people to count the gifts.  I stumbled upon her book , and her blog about four years ago when our second son was born.  It was God’s perfect timing.  I needed comfort of counting.  I was overwhelmed as a mom of another child, and I needed to simplify my faith journey by counting the gifts of grace God has placed in my life.  I started my own blog, and I counted my 1,000 gifts.  God blessed me through that process, and I still count them through photos, in my head, and we are starting a second hard copy book in a journal my sweet sister in law sent to me.  Our children are joining in as they count gifts too. The comfort of these photos this week are remarkable…Christ is in a camera:

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Today I’m linking up with other sisters in Christ at Lisa Jo Baker’s blog. 

Five Minute Friday

Thank you Lisa Jo and Ann for being moms that encourage me to cling to the good stuff in life.

6 thoughts on “Christ in a Camera

  1. I love this. It’s my first time joining up with Lisa Jo’s five minute Friday party so I’m so pleased to “meet” you!
    ‘The comfort of counting’ is such a great phrase. Thank you for this reminder to slow down, change perspective, perhaps look through a different lens and see the blessings that surround us.
    Your photos are gorgeous. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Adele for your encouraging words and taking the time to comment! Lisa Jo’s five minute Fridays are a blessing to me each week. They have inspired me to create quick posts (I still take closer to 10 minutes)! I type for 5 then edit and add pictures. The blogging community is such a sacred place among Believers…I think it’s wonderful that Christ is in the social media community too.

      Like

  2. Beautiful! “And, when I look I see beauty.” Amen – we are more blessed than we realise. God surrounds us with so much beauty, and He, Himself, is beautiful. “One thing I have asked from the Lord, that I shall seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord and to meditate in His temple.” [Psalm 27:4]

    Like

Leave a Reply

