The Light of Men

Image

Photo Credit: Rochelle Stone Photography

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was with God in the beginning.” John 1:1-2

I do a little thing called Hello Mornings

It is a huge blessing to me to start my day in God’s Word and with the fellowship of other Believers.  Today’s reading was John 1:1-18.  Pause.  My husband just entered in to massage my back in neck.  God is in all these moments.  My husband doesn’t know this post in part about him.

Today’s post is a tribute to the men in my life.  My husband, my father, and my father in law.  They are all men of God.  They all know the Word.  They have some of it memorized.

My father went on a high school mission trip with me, and I remember a night time devotion by candle light. I was shocked and amazed that my father, quiet about his faith…spoke this scripture from his heart John 1:1 (see above).  Today, I read the same words.  My heart is full of memories past and present.

My dad is a social extrovert like me.  We talk up a storm to strangers, but naturally we prefers to be a bit private or introverted…do our own thing.  He is man of action, and he is a light in my life.  My father came quickly to my call yesterday to help with our younger son so that I could attend scouts with our older son.  My husband was out of town for the weekend.  My dad appeared…hurrying from a meeting to answer the call to be present with his grandson, Bryan (his namesake) and to serve me.

Image

Bryan appears again here.  This photo was shot last week…another glimmer of grace.  My husband joined him in a rainy day play time moment.  I was dressed nicely…I didn’t want to get wet.  But, my husband went in for an umbrella, and he found a toy boat in the garage for them to sail down the street gutter with our son.  My heart melted.  Bent low.  Our Father God, bends low to be with us in his Word.  Our Father came in the flesh “The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us.  We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the father full of grace and truth.” John 1:14

The grace and truth are evident in God’s Word and in the people who dwell on the earth loving others.  My father, my father in law, and my husband are men of grace and truth.  They bend low in service to their families, friends, and even strangers.  May I learn from them, lean on them, and love on them as they do me.

I know this month is Mother’s Day.  However, without the men, we would never be mothers.  Thank you God for the Light of men in our world, and for penetrating Your Word into their hearts and into our lives.  I pray you see the light of men today in the grace of Christ, in His Word, and in our world today.

2 thoughts on “The Light of Men

Leave a Reply

